Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: BT4 VirtualBox and Mac OS

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default BT4 VirtualBox and Mac OS

    I have installed BT4 on Mac OS X using VirtualBox

    1) When I try and install the guest additions X refuses to start??

    2) Screen resolution will only be multiples of 800x600 (or 1600x1200)
    How can I get 1100x740?
    I tried editing xorg.conf but no joy it jumps to either 800x600 or 1600x1200

    I would like to get 1100x740 to more match my Mac OS X Screen Resolution.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: BT4 VirtualBox and Mac OS

    Have you read section 9.4.1 of the VirtualBox User Manual. It talks about setting custom VESA resolutions. Not sure if that will help, but you never know.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: BT4 VirtualBox and Mac OS

    So like jpkirk said, if you follow 9.4.1 in the guide you can get the VM to run in a higher resolution.

    On the Mac type this;

    Code:
    VboxManage setextradata "Backtrack4" "CustomVideoMode1" "1100x740x16"
    but change Backtack4 to be what your VM is called in the Virtualbox app
    Start the VM and edit the /boot/grub/menu.lst where is says (don't uncomment the lines)

    Code:
    ## additional options to use with the default boot option, but not with the
    ## alternatives
    ## e.g. defoptions=vga=0x317 resume=/dev/hda5
    # defoptions=vga=0x317
    to
    Code:
     vga = 0x200 | 0x160
    enter
    Code:
    update-grub
    reboot - during boot it will say Press Enter to list video mode (or something to that effect) then look for the video mode you added. Note the number and enter it to make sure the video resolution is working.

    Edit the menu.lst file again but this time change the
    Code:
    # defoptions=vga=0x317
    to 0x??? what ever your video number was.

    run
    Code:
    update-grub
    again and it should boot into the resolution you selected.

    This will change the resolution for your whole VM, so if start on the command line the CLI will also be at full screen, if you go straight into X then you won't notice that.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: BT4 VirtualBox and Mac OS

    Thanks All

    another Question in setting Up

    I have The Airport Card

    Airport Extreme (0x168C, 0x86) Firmware 1.4.16.2

    USB Wireless Adapter
    I also have a DLink DWL - G122 and
    Ashton Digital wrub 2011i

    Which is the best to use for airmon, airodump, etc...?

    and what modules should be installed (? modprobe ?)
    I understand the Dlink is an rt73 type chipset and the Ashton is a prism2

    Thanks again

  5. #5
    Member xX_Spiidey_Xx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    256

    Default Re: BT4 VirtualBox and Mac OS

    You need to forget that you have an Airport Extreme. It's not going to work with VirtualBox.

    So long as either of your USB adapters support monitor mode and injection (or a combination thereof: one card monitors, one card injects) you could use either, or both.

    Just remember to pass them through to your VM.

    As for your modules question, do some research on your own. The drivers you may need, might already be up and running.
    thou shalt treat all computers as thou wouldst treat thyself, for thou art the creator of thine own problems.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT4 VirtualBox and Mac OS

    Hey there.

    Google around and find out how to install virtualbox guest additions. It'll make the resolution free-flow with the OS X window among a bunch of other nice things like fixing the mouse up and stuff.

    (First post. Hello, backtrack community.)

Similar Threads

  1. VirtualBox USB-WLAN Error
    By spYro in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-18-2011, 08:34 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-09-2010, 08:08 PM
  3. wifi on virtualbox vm
    By alazarev in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 05:05 AM
  4. wifi on virtualbox vm
    By Archangel-Amael in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 08:17 PM
  5. access bt4 running in virtualbox via vnc
    By bl0tch in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-17-2010, 06:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •