Thread: MarkMonitor monitors my system

Hybrid View

Exclamation MarkMonitor monitors my system

Hi.

I have two systems at home, a Linux (Backtrack and CrashBang) and a Windows for work. The situation is as follows.

-In my windows machine my firewall status shows me that any time I open a network related application a few connections open, from 0.0.0.0 and a port between 3000 and 4200, to some external IPs 80 port. Three of these IPs are 209.85.135.103, 74.125.39.139, and 64.124.14.70.

-Reverse DNS and whois show the IPs belong to MarkMonitor, a company whose scope I am unsure about but whose full name is Markmonitor Brand Protection Antifraud Solutions. That sounds scary.

-I have no idea how if the connections start locally, or if they are just trying to hit the ports remotely and get answers from my network applications.

-Blocking the ports triggers the use of other ports.

I am not a newbie, but this falls slightly big for me. I need some guidance and would also like to hear any information about apart from website and strange press releases I have seen around, to try to understand what they might be after.

Just for your info, I don't do attacks from home nor am I involved in any criminal activities. Unless using Bittorrent can already fall into that description.

Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by madmanu View Post
    Hi.
    I have two systems at home, a Linux (Backtrack and CrashBang) and a Windows for work. The situation is as follows.

. I need some guidance
    So if this is your work computer why not just let your network or system admin know about the problem or maybe they already do.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.