Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: "Validating Authentication" and then "not connected"

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16

    Unhappy "Validating Authentication" and then "not connected"

    Ok, so i've been using backtrack to pentest my home wireless quite a while.
    But now when i try to connect to ANY wireless network via WICD or command line i cant connect.
    I didnt change any conf, the only thing i've been "playing" with was with iwconfig, but then set the things i changed to auto again.
    Now when i try to connect with WICD it stays at "Validating Authentication" and then after ~1minute says "not connected", i've tested the same wireless with the same key @ windows and it would connect well.
    With command line, after dhclient wlan0 it just tries DHCPDISCOVER a few times and then fails.

    If you are able to help, i can post some command results you say, in order to you give you more info about anything.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO bytemaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Did you selected the right type of key (e.g. WEP Hex or WPA Passphrase) in the mask where you enter the Key/Passphrase?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bytemaster View Post
    Did you selected the right type of key (e.g. WEP Hex or WPA Passphrase) in the mask where you enter the Key/Passphrase?


    Yes, i mentioned that i had already tried with command line, not only WICD.
    Something is wrong, maybe iwconfig's ?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Nick_the_Greek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    181

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlcox89 View Post
    ...But now when i try to connect to ANY wireless network via WICD or command line i cant connect.
    Carlcox89,

    can I ask what do you mean by saying any?

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nick_the_Greek View Post
    Carlcox89,

    can I ask what do you mean by saying any?
    Any network, not only tested with one or two... i've tried connecting to 3 different networks (at windows i'm able to connect to them) and got no luck

  6. #6
    Senior Member Nick_the_Greek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    181

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlcox89 View Post
    Any network, not only tested with one or two... i've tried connecting to 3 different networks (at windows i'm able to connect to them) and got no luck
    Carlcox89,

    Sorry being late to respond. I did not see your reply.

    For my personal experience you can't connect to a network when:

    1) To far from it (go closer)
    2) MAC filtering (You don't know if you are using MAC filtering at your own network?)
    3) wifi-card is dead (You can connect with windows, so this isn't the case)
    4) Drivers messed up.
    5) Password was changed. (Same as case 2)

    Can't remember anything else.

    Sometimes it's helpful to do:

    Code:
    iwconfig <interface> ap xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
    Where xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx is the MAC of your AP.

    Finally I got to ask:

    How many networks do you have? Those "any networks" are yours?

    Quote Originally Posted by Nick_the_Greek View Post
    Finally I got to ask:
    How many networks do you have? Those "any networks" are yours?
    The silent of the lambs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •