Thread: target is linux. tftp help?

Just burned his ISO

Default target is linux. tftp help?

I'm doing a lab at home via vmware. My attacker is BackTrack (of course) and my target is linux slackware. So far I have only been able to get as far as logging onto it's ftp as anonymous (nothing really useful in there) and able to connect to the target via tftp. I'm still quite new to pen-testing so I'm not sure what I could do with this tftp access. I see that I am able to run commands such as "get" and "put". I was able (i think) to copy netcat over to the target but not sure how I can connect to the target via netcat. Since I don't have access to the target yet, I can't start a listener on the box (unless one of you know a way). If I could start a listener then I assume the best bet would be to retrieve the /bin/bash with the nc -e option. The following are the ports which are open. *this is all on my personal lab, just an fyi*

21 – ftp – vsftpd 2.0.4
    22 – ssh – OpenSSH 4.3
    80 – http – Apache httpd 2.2.4 mod_ssl/2.2.4 OpenSSL/0.9.8b DAV/2
    631 – ipp – CUPS 1.1

Thanks for any help or a push in the right direction.

Just burned his ISO

Personally, I would approach it one of two ways:
    1. Bruteforce the FTP server for a username / password
    2. Find an exploit for the CUPS 1.1 service (A google search for "CUPS 1.1 vulnerability" turned up quite a few results.)

Also, I generally like to stay away from "noisy" methods. Thus, I would pick the 2nd method.

What you have managed to do with nc is basically just get it onto the box. (You can confirm its actually there by trying a TFTP get on the filename by the way, or you can check via the console on the slackware box, a good practice when you are just learning).