Thread: [Moved] Wordlist creation question

Just burned his ISO

Exclamation [Moved] Wordlist creation question

ok im fairly new at linux, although i did take a few a+, cicso, microsoft server 2003 classes and they touched on linux. i would like to know if there is any way that i could make my own wordlist file with all characters (ex. a,A,1,!) in length from 3 to 16.

ive googled for about 2 hours now and no result. any help would be awesome. step by step would be phenomenal!

Thanks Dylan

Quote Originally Posted by im-a-skier View Post
    ok im fairly new at linux, although i did take a few a+, cicso, microsoft server 2003 classes and they touched on linux. i would like to know if there is any way that i could make my own wordlist file with all characters (ex. a,A,1,!) in length from 3 to 16.

ive googled for about 2 hours now and no result. any help would be awesome. step by step would be phenomenal!

Thanks Dylan
    I have moved this to a new thread for you. Dont hijack threads like this again please.

Anyway do you mean you want all possible combinations of all possible characters for all lengths from 3 to 16? That is going to be gigantic. Your hard disk won't be big enough to hold it. Crunch or a custom script will generate it for you though, should you have the desire to try.

Theres examples of using crunch all over the forum and in the wiki.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

Just burned his ISO

thanks a bunch!!
    sorry for the wrong thread :P

Considering a wordlist that contains only length 8 "words" using 62 chars (a-zA-Z0-9) is 218.3TB you aren't going to be storing everything length 3-16 using 62 chars anytime soon (let alone using a 95 char character set).