Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: I borked my Vista install because I don't know what I am doing.

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default I borked my Vista install because I don't know what I am doing.

    Hi,firstly I dont even know why did I installed this program to my laptop,I mean i dont know much about computing and now I cant use my vista .when I start the laptop bt4 comes on so I cant get my vista.PLEASE,PLEASE HELP I dont know how to get my vista back.

    Thanks Geronimo

    MOD EDIT: Thread title changed to comply with forum rules.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Your inability to get windows to work is not a bug nor a fix.
    Actually the fix is that you are now forced to learn to compute. Instead of looking at all the pretty icons. So I guess it's all good.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Senior Member MikeCa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Err... how did you get BT4 started? Did you burn an ISO and put it in your CD drive? If so, take it out. Did you burn an ISO to a CD, then install BT4 to your hard drive? If so, your "Vista" is likely gone.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi,Mikec I did exactly what you said so you saying that my vista is gone now.how can I get it back?

  5. #5
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    This should be stickied as a "pig's head on a stake" message for all those that are messing with things that they shouldn't.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  6. #6
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archangel.amael View Post
    Your inability to get windows to work is not a bug nor a fix.
    Some might consider it a fix

    Quote Originally Posted by xxgeronimoxx View Post
    Hi,Mikec I did exactly what you said so you saying that my vista is gone now.how can I get it back?
    You did exactly what he said, except that he said two completely different things.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  7. #7
    Senior Member MikeCa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thorin View Post
    Some might consider it a fix


    You did exactly what he said, except that he said two completely different things.
    That earns a chuckle.

    Quote Originally Posted by xxgeronimoxx View Post
    Hi,Mikec I did exactly what you said so you saying that my vista is gone now.how can I get it back?
    Right, so... I am going to assume you installed it to your hard drive instead of just using the LiveCD without clicking "install.sh". If you did that then your "Vista" is gone. When something is gone it is difficult to get it back. Think of the last time you took your trash to the end of the street and the garbage man came and took it away.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thorin View Post
    Some might consider it a fix
    Hence the second and third sentence in my post.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Nick_the_Greek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    181

    Default

    xxgeronimoxx, for sure this is a good lesson for you.Be careful in the future.

    In my opinion (you are not providing much informations) you destroyed the Vista boot loader (Winload.exe). It was replaced with Grub. You may try this link:

    How to use the Bootrec.exe tool in the Windows Recovery Environment to troubleshoot and repair startup issues in Windows

    Or you may google "vista restore MBR" etc

    BT4 isn't FIFA 2009.

  10. #10
    Senior Member MikeCa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Nick: You think it's likely that this guy installed GRUB over his windows bootloader and did not repartition and reformat his drive(s)?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •