Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: AspireOne D250 No Network

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default AspireOne D250 No Network

    Hi,

    I have just purchased a the new Aspire One D250.
    After booting it from the SD card into BT4PreRelease it is not finding any of the network cards.
    Does someone know if the D250 network cards is not supported in the BT?
    (I have tried BT3 also but the same happens. Booting it on a Asus EEE900 works just fine)

    Hope someone can helt me

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default AspireOne D250 No Network

    I also just received an Aspire One D250. I have the same issue with the internal Ethernet. BT4Pre installed on HD.

    Also on a side note...how were you able to boot off the SD? I have latest firmware. Did a google search and found a doc stating it does not work.
    Wish I could get that going as well!
    Thanks

  3. #3
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by delli View Post
    Hi,

    I have just purchased a the new Aspire One D250.
    After booting it from the SD card into BT4PreRelease it is not finding any of the network cards.
    Does someone know if the D250 network cards is not supported in the BT?
    (I have tried BT3 also but the same happens. Booting it on a Asus EEE900 works just fine)

    Hope someone can helt me
    Found this on the tubes.

    This problem is solved by the drivers which can be downloaded on the vendor's website:
    Atheros Communications

    Please download one of the AR81Family Linux Drivers:
    [459]AR813X-linux-v1.0.0.9.tar.gz
    Or:
    AR81Family-linux-v1.0.1.0.tar.gz

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Found this in one of the HOWTO sections in the forums here, but for EEE. Same Ethernet card. Good start!
    But - now it is ver 1.0.0.10. So I found this on the web to help out...
    Still download from the Atheros Partner site under Drivers.

    tar -xzvf AR81Family-linux-v1.0.0.10.tar.gz
    cd src
    make
    sudo make install
    sudo insmod atl1e.ko

    Works! I have Internet! But I still would like to see how delli used the SD for boot! ;-)

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Hmmm...After the Kernel fix to 2.6.30.5, the Ethernet will not function. I did all the steps after the kernel upgrade for the Atheros. But - it wants to utilize /usr/src/linux-source-2.6.29.4.

    How do I get it to utilize 2.6.30.5?
    TIA

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO mr-swaggmore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MicroJay View Post
    Hmmm...After the Kernel fix to 2.6.30.5, the Ethernet will not function. I did all the steps after the kernel upgrade for the Atheros. But - it wants to utilize /usr/src/linux-source-2.6.29.4.

    How do I get it to utilize 2.6.30.5?
    TIA
    yea you shouldn't have upgraded your kernel I had to reinstall and start over
    D-Day 2012 fact or fiction

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I can still boot into 2.6.29.4 without issues.
    I'd like it to work in the latest. I'll have to mess around some more!

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    81

    Default -

    to get network to work try services start-network and internet wicd

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    No go. I believe it has to do with the Atheros Drivers with the latest kernel.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    81

    Default --

    what wificard is it? what gives the lspci?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •