Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: system problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default system problem

    hi guys
    i have screwed my system
    and i want to restore it again without formating and reinstalling process
    aany ideas??
    thnx

  2. #2
    Senior Member Nick_the_Greek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    181

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mesmar View Post
    hi guys
    i have screwed my system
    and i want to restore it again without formating and reinstalling process
    aany ideas??
    thnx
    And you system was....
    And you screwed up you system by doing.....

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default

    my system was bt4
    screwed up deleting most of the programs using auto delet command

  4. #4
    Senior Member MikeCa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Are you using the LiveCD? If so, then just reboot. Did you install BT4 to your hard drive?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mesmar View Post
    my system was bt4
    screwed up deleting most of the programs using auto delet command
    Let's try to be a bit more descriptive shall we. A good way to learn/achieve this would be to follow the info here.

    There is no reason why this took two posts to describe.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Are you using the LiveCD? If so, then just reboot. Did you install BT4 to your hard drive
    yes i have install it on the hard drive.i have upgrade the kernal and it works fine suddenly i have some problems with installing new pro grammes and removing it.so i have used the following command:auto remove
    which removes alot of the applications installed .now i have either ro re install the disto or try to install those applications one by one ..the hole question is there any way to restore the disto to its first situation other than formating & reinstalling it


    archangel.amael you are right i will be more descriptive.

    up
    any help?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    There is no need to "bump" your posts.
    As for your problem, I would suggest that you just do a re-install following one of the official guides from the off-sec blog.
    Also might want to make sure you check out how to make backups to prevent future data losses.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •