Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: macbook pro external hd boot

Just burned his ISO

Default macbook pro external hd boot

Hello,
    I'm a macbook pro owner; i'm trying to get BT4 working on an external USB HD, but i'm not able to make it bootable. For the installation procedure I followed the video guide and i think to have done it correctly.

If I press the "alt" button on startup the only hd that appear is the internal mac os x hd....thus, following some guides found on the net, i tryed installing refit...now, on the startup page, i have 3 disk (one is my internal hd and the other two are for the 2 partitions (i think...) on the external hd (bt4 and casper))...in any case i wasn't able to boot...after some seconds of waiting the boot was interrupted with a list of error like:
    Error: Not found while loading legacy loader
    so, looking around on the net i found that i should run the gptsync tool..but after that nothing changed (but now i have a 4th disk in the startup page )

for the moment i removed refit...but now, if i press the alt button on startup (with no external hard drive connected) i have two disks...the first is the one of mac os and the other one is named "windows"...

i hope someone can help me...(and i'm sorry for my bad english)
    thank you

Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar

One supposes it doesn't count as double posting when you do it in English and otherwise, but don't do it again I think.

On with the show: First, if you are a Macbook owner, you can probably afford a copy of VMware Fusion 2 - which I recommend. There is no actual good idea to run BT as the main OS on a Macbook - OS X works better and, to be perfectly honest, the wifi chipset is generally a broadcom and thus unhelpful when you try to crack your neighbours network - so you need a USB wifi adaptor anyway.