Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What else we have to know except the password?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default What else we have to know except the password?

    OK, using the BT and aircrack-ng I'm able often to obtain the WEP password. After that I'm returning back to Windows traying to connect to the AP but on half of the cases I'm connecting limited only without obtaining the IP address. What else I have to know and to configure in order to connect to these AP?

  2. #2
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default Re: What else we have to know except the password?

    Quote Originally Posted by login63 View Post
    OK, using the BT and aircrack-ng I'm able often to obtain the WEP password. After that I'm returning back to Windows traying to connect to the AP but on half of the cases I'm connecting limited only without obtaining the IP address. What else I have to know and to configure in order to connect to these AP?
    Is DHCP running on 'these AP'?
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: What else we have to know except the password?

    I don't know if there is running DHCP on these AP. I'm just obtaining password with aircrack-ng and in WinXP I'm changing the MAC address to same as used in BT. What else I have to check before returning back to WinXP?

  4. #4
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default Re: What else we have to know except the password?

    Quote Originally Posted by login63 View Post
    I don't know if there is running DHCP on these AP. I'm just obtaining password with aircrack-ng and in WinXP I'm changing the MAC address to same as used in BT. What else I have to check before returning back to WinXP?
    Log into these AP and ensure that DHCP is enabled, and then try again.

  5. #5
    Member MosGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    120

    Default Re: What else we have to know except the password?

    Quote Originally Posted by login63 View Post
    I don't know if there is running DHCP on these AP. I'm just obtaining password with aircrack-ng and in WinXP I'm changing the MAC address to same as used in BT. What else I have to check before returning back to WinXP?
    Why don't you know if DHCP is running ?. As mentioned just log-in to the router and check if it's enabled. Did you set-up the router or someone else ?.

    @Tape: It read to me like the seniors from the old forum were up to their usual helping hand. Seems you did a canon-ball in the fish pond

  6. #6
    Member mixit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: What else we have to know except the password?

    Maybe you're too far from 'these AP'

  7. #7
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default Re: What else we have to know except the password?

    lol, noone yet calling BS on this ?!

  8. #8
    Senior Member micole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: What else we have to know except the password?

    Quote Originally Posted by login63 View Post
    I don't know if there is running DHCP on these AP. I'm just obtaining password with aircrack-ng and in WinXP I'm changing the MAC address to same as used in BT. What else I have to check before returning back to WinXP?
    ... You don't know if it is running DHCP? It should be your own wireless router, because if you are doing this for a security audit you should know how stuff like this works without our help...

    Quote Originally Posted by theprez98 View Post
    Log into these AP and ensure that DHCP is enabled, and then try again.
    If he CAN log into the AP...

    Quote Originally Posted by =TAPE= View Post
    lol, noone yet calling BS on this ?!
    I will...

    OP Who's AP is it?
    Common Knowledge: Username, "root". Password, "toor". "startx" gives you a GUI, and "fix-vesa" will fix BT if you have no GUI. Start networking with "/etc/init.d/networking start" and check your IP settings with "ifconfig -a". "dhclient" will automatically use DHCP for your IP. Google is your friend.

  9. #9
    Member xX_Spiidey_Xx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    256

    Default Re: What else we have to know except the password?

    Quote Originally Posted by micole View Post
    ... You don't know if it is running DHCP? It should be your own wireless router, because if you are doing this for a security audit you should know how stuff like this works without our help...


    If he CAN log into the AP...


    I will...

    OP Who's AP is it?
    Slow. Down. micole. I can't keep up with you.

    I second the BS Motion. If a person who was able to log into THEIR own AP (not to be confused with an 'owned AP'), they would be able to tell if the little DHCP box was checked or not.

    To solve your lack of IP issue, plug some CAT5 into the router and your computer. Then make sure that DHCP is on. Alternatively, because you DO own that AP (right?), you should know the IP range to set your network interface within.
    thou shalt treat all computers as thou wouldst treat thyself, for thou art the creator of thine own problems.

  10. #10
    Senior Member micole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: What else we have to know except the password?

    Quote Originally Posted by xX_Spiidey_Xx View Post
    Slow. Down. micole. I can't keep up with you.
    I do not know what you mean spiidey

    Is it because me and you keep fighting to post first :P
    Common Knowledge: Username, "root". Password, "toor". "startx" gives you a GUI, and "fix-vesa" will fix BT if you have no GUI. Start networking with "/etc/init.d/networking start" and check your IP settings with "ifconfig -a". "dhclient" will automatically use DHCP for your IP. Google is your friend.

Similar Threads

  1. password dictionary help
    By alansainsbury in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-04-2010, 04:25 PM
  2. Password Invalid, Tried Everything
    By Jccck in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 12:57 PM
  3. BT4 VM - Password Recovery? :/
    By Big-Blue in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-14-2010, 07:09 AM
  4. bt4 wants password for vmware3
    By rumbug in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 10:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •