Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: X11 auto start on bt4

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4

    Wink X11 auto start on bt4

    OK,
    lets do our bt4 pre-final to run the "startx" command
    create a new text file on your desktop and name it "xstrup.sh"
    open it wit a text editor and write:
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    stratx
    and save it.
    then open a terminal.Run the following commands:
    Code:
    cd
    chmod +x xstrup.sh
    sudo cp xstrup.sh /etc/init.d/
    DONE!!!

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    An easiest way would be

    nano /root/.bash_profile
    startx
    save, exit, reboot.

    (Info from here)

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Or maybe change the default runlevel to 4

    /etc/inittab:
    id:4:initdefault:

    This will start kdm what you can configure from kde to log on automatically as a specified user

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blackhatdbl View Post
    OK,
    lets do our bt4 pre-final to run the "startx" command
    create a new text file on your desktop and name it "xstrup.sh"
    open it wit a text editor and write:
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    stratx
    and save it.
    then open a terminal.Run the following commands:
    Code:
    cd
    chmod +x xstrup.sh
    sudo cp xstrup.sh /etc/init.d/
    DONE!!!
    Done? are you sure? Did you forget all about /etc/init.d/skel and update-rc.d?


    Quote Originally Posted by darkdog8157 View Post
    Or maybe change the default runlevel to 4

    /etc/inittab:
    id:4:initdefault:

    This will start kdm what you can configure from kde to log on automatically as a specified user

    In Debian based distros there is no default run level for graphical mode unlike some others.

    For more information about runlevels in Debian: An introduction to run-levels

    The preferred method of getting xserver to boot on startup is via the installation of a graphical display manager.

    Code:
    # aptitude install kdm
    The postinst script of the package will automatically add it to the default runlevel.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Titan8990 View Post
    In Debian based distros there is no default run level for graphical mode unlike some others.
    Sorry, that was for bt3..

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Yep, Slackware based distros do have a graphical run level.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO SETI_explorer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Install kdm, and then, in sysv-rc-conf select kdm to run in run level 2

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    32

    Default

    in sysv-rc-conf select kdm to run in run level 2
    Why not just add it the default run level and leave it at that? Must we hack around configuration files when we don't need to?

    double post, disregard

  9. #9
    Senior Member Shatter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    192

    Default

    Having installed kdm myself, and set the runlevel to 5 upon boot, has anybody noticed that certain environment variables are being changed and/or reset? I.e. the $PATH no longer reflects whatever is written in /etc/environment. Try logging in on another tty (ctrl+alt+F2) and you'll get proper variables, unlike in the X.
    I have the card in me head, but you have the memory problems?

  10. #10

    Default

    Or place a link to x11 on KDE startup directory . . . (noob friendly)
    :cool:
    :cool:
    Alienware M17x - Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme QX9300
    Dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 280M GPUs
    8GB DDR3-1333 RAM
    Dual 500GB
    :cool:
    :cool:

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •