Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AWBO Buffer Overflow Exercise

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Default AWBO Buffer Overflow Exercise

Hello,
    I'm pretty new to developing exploits and I'm trying the awbo exercises, which can be found at snort.org/vrt/tools/awbo.html ... I've successfully triggered the vulnerability (on the first exercise), which is a SEH overflow...

At my current level of knowledge I'm stuck on 3 points:

1 - The payload I need to jump to is before the SEH overflow
    2 - The opcodes to a JUMP SHORT do not work (bad chars I believe...), another problem is that I need to jump over 128 bytes before, so a SHORT won't work
    3 - Required opcodes to decode the payload seem to be blocked (x86/alpha_upper), I've also tested the x86/alpha_mixed...

Is there any tool which generates a list of opcodes that I may insert as a payload and analise what are the bad chars?
    What about the other issues I've mentioned?

Any help is appreciated! Thank you.

Just burned his ISO

Hmmm, I'm pretty new to exploit development also. How about generating a string with the entire ascii set (omitting the null character of course). Send that in the buffer and check it out through the debugger. See what gets filtered and exclude those characters as bad. I guess you might need to run it through several times to get all the badchars.

That's the advice given in the shellcoder's handbook in any case, and it seemed to work for me.

I'd also appreciate any recommendations on a better way. Oh, thanks for the tip on the awbo exercises as well; I hadn't seen those before so extra practice ahead!

As for the tool to find opcodes: msfpescan maybe?

I'm very new to jumps so haven't had much experience there sorry. Is there such a thing as a LONG jump though or can you use two SHORT jumps?

Cheers

Just burned his ISO

Thanks for the help F1gureF0ur!
    I've made this script in order to generate the string and redirected its output to a file:
    Code:
    import sys