Thread: Scripts On Boot.

Just burned his ISO

Talking Scripts On Boot.

I would first like to say Hi. BT4 newbie here. I'm not new to linux (I've been Windows free for 6 years) but I still consider myself a scrub. I don't know when I can help, but I'll do my best to help when I can. Ha. I foresee a long good relationship between me and everyone on these forums. Ha

So I'm a little confused.

I googled the configuration set-up on Casper. But before I tried the configuration method, I noticed that my USB install was saving all of my configuration changes. I then went to go modify the config, and the code seemed to be set up as far as I could tell by comparing the code I nabbed. Does BT4 come with Casper properly configured?

And that leads me to my second question. I want to have Yakuake and WiCd to start on boot.

So are there any settings that I have ignorantly not properly set up or do I just have to throw together a script? And lastly, I can't seem to find the BT4 version of /etc/init.d/boot.local on teh nets. What is it's location? Is it possible on a Persistent USB install?

Sorry about the new post, but Google wasn't proving fruitful and I didn't find any similar post on these forums.

Developer

The proper way is to use update-rc.d. you can start wicd by update-rc.d wicd defaults

Like so: update-rc.d apache2 defaults
    Adding system startup for /etc/init.d/apache2 ...
    /etc/rc0.d/K20apache2 -> ../init.d/apache2
    /etc/rc1.d/K20apache2 -> ../init.d/apache2
    /etc/rc6.d/K20apache2 -> ../init.d/apache2
    /etc/rc2.d/S20apache2 -> ../init.d/apache2
    /etc/rc3.d/S20apache2 -> ../init.d/apache2
    /etc/rc4.d/S20apache2 -> ../init.d/apache2
    /etc/rc5.d/S20apache2 -> ../init.d/apache2

Quote Originally Posted by Existentialist View Post