Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: BT4 or BT3 bootable USB Hard or Stick

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    88

    Default BT4 or BT3 bootable USB Hard or Stick

    Hi all,
    i am sorry but i am tired of trying anything to boot from USB Stick and hard BT4 and BT3.
    i tried all methods here plus using PendriveLinux Method .
    The problem about Pendrivelinux that Qemu hangs while loading the hardwares.
    Please note that i can boot from USB DVD-Rom but i cant boot from USB data storage. can anyone suggest me another method ! or why i cant boot it ! might be my LAPTOP problem.
    Impossible is impossible

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by omarara View Post
    Hi all,
    i am sorry but i am tired of trying anything to boot from USB Stick and hard BT4 and BT3.
    i tried all methods here plus using PendriveLinux Method .
    The problem about Pendrivelinux that Qemu hangs while loading the hardwares.
    Please note that i can boot from USB DVD-Rom but i cant boot from USB data storage. can anyone suggest me another method ! or why i cant boot it ! might be my LAPTOP problem.
    We don't know, what laptop do you have?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    We don't know, what laptop do you have?
    Toshiba satellite A105-S2001
    Impossible is impossible

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Ohhhhhhh My Goooooooood My stupid LAPTOP BIOS ,the USB sticks and USB hard disks are included under HARD drives not removable devices.
    sorry for thread but don't close it i have another question regarding USB BT4 saving changes
    Impossible is impossible

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO petabyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Lol i was writing a long response for your answer and when I finish it I see your last post Now I cant' delete it so I edit the post and write this
    Google is your best friend :D

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by petabyte View Post
    Lol i was writing a long response for your answer and when I finish it I see your last post Now I cant' delete it so I edit the post and write this
    i am sorry for that , i was going to crack the laptop monitor after i saw this BIOS option
    anyway now my problem is :
    when i use Install.sh everything works fine including save changes.
    but when i use the other method "4 GB USB stick" which is i use Fdisk and make two partions and copy the data , it didn't save any changes
    second i am using 20GB USB hard disk , while using install.sh i applied use all drive option , do i need to make swap partion or turn it on , cause BT4 is kinda heavy
    Impossible is impossible

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    88

    Default

    i am sorry guys i have another question:
    i just start using BT4 installed on the Hard Drive
    so now do i need every time to type
    Code:
    sudo
    before any command !
    so how can i run it as root without typing every time sudo !
    i google it but all i got is that :
    Code:
    sudo passwd root
    but nothing changed
    Impossible is impossible

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by omarara View Post
    i am sorry guys i have another question:
    i just start using BT4 installed on the Hard Drive
    so now do i need every time to type
    Code:
    sudo
    before any command !
    so how can i run it as root without typing every time sudo !
    i google it but all i got is that :
    Code:
    sudo passwd root
    but nothing changed
    ok Great i found it
    Code:
    sudo -s
    sudo passwd root
    Impossible is impossible

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by omarara View Post
    Ohhhhhhh My Goooooooood My stupid LAPTOP BIOS ,the USB sticks and USB hard disks are included under HARD drives not removable devices.
    sorry for thread but don't close it i have another question regarding USB BT4 saving changes
    I discovered this on my new Eee PC 1005 tonight as well. To boot from the SDCard I must change the HDD to be disk #2 in the BIOS. This boots into BT on my SDCard. However, if I poweroff, remove the card then reboot, it automatically boots from the HDD and loads Windows. When I poweroff and put the SDCard back, the BIOS maintains HDD as #1 and SDCard as #2 again! So the way I figure it, I'll need to use the SDCard by modifying the boot loader so it can boot into windows and everything else as well.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wincefish View Post
    I discovered this on my new Eee PC 1005 tonight as well. To boot from the SDCard I must change the HDD to be disk #2 in the BIOS. This boots into BT on my SDCard. However, if I poweroff, remove the card then reboot, it automatically boots from the HDD and loads Windows. When I poweroff and put the SDCard back, the BIOS maintains HDD as #1 and SDCard as #2 again! So the way I figure it, I'll need to use the SDCard by modifying the boot loader so it can boot into windows and everything else as well.
    Same thing here
    Impossible is impossible

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •