Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: VPN connection on the same subnet

Just burned his ISO

Default VPN connection on the same subnet

Hi everyone,
    I wanted to if the is any way to connect from a private network that configured like this:
    DHCP - 10.0.0.1-130
    subnet - 255.0.0.0
    to other network through VPN with the same settings.
    and i dont wanna change the configuration on both...

You'll probably have routing issues.

I know I experienced something like this with my brother. His Linksys worked perfectly until he tried to VPN into work and they use the same 192.168.1.x address space. I ended up re-configuring his Linksys so that locally @ home he'd be 192.168.3.x and then thing were happy when he VPN'd to work.

The problem is your local device has no way to know if (for example) 192.168.1.10 is local or VPN if both networks use the same RFC1918 address space.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Quote Originally Posted by Iplaman View Post
    Hi everyone,
    I wanted to if the is any way to connect from a private network that configured like this:
    DHCP - 10.0.0.1-130
    subnet - 255.0.0.0
    to other network through VPN with the same settings.
    and i dont wanna change the configuration on both...
    If you're connecting multiple sites via a VPN, then it's really no different with a regular WAN link like a T1. You'll need different subnets on each end.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

Just burned his ISO