Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: "Passphrase not in dictionary"

  1. #1
    Junior Member Shaamaan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    34

    Default "Passphrase not in dictionary"

    I've managed to hack my own WEP encrypted network without a fuss... but I cannot seem to hack it when it's WPA2 encrypted.

    I've prepared a simple text file with a few random passes and the correct one. I first run the standard airodump-ng, then using aireplay-ng I force my PC to deauth (BTW: I'm running BT on my laptop), and thus I get a nice handshake.

    So, all's fine, right?

    Well, running aircrack-ng data.cap -w list.txt ends up with "Passphrase not in dictionary".

    I've also tried using the -p 1 command (I've read somewhere that when there are only a few passes in the wordlist aircrack might go nuts on a DualCore CPU). Still nothing.

    What else can I try / what am I doing wrong?
    Shaamaan

    Free will is an illusion...

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO nishant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    7

    Thumbs down @Shaaman

    Exactly..I too have the same problem.

    I'm using BT 4 Pre-Final (HDD Install) on my laptop in my home network. I connected to the AP using my D-Link DWA 110 (Ralink 2573 Chipset using RT73USB driver) and monitor using my Centrino 3945 a/b/g card. I can easily capture the WPA Handshake by aireplay deauth. But aircrack-ng can't crack the KEY even if i'm providing the correct key in the dictionary file. It just says "Passphrase not in dictionary"
    Where's m i doing wrong?

  3. #3
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shaamaan View Post
    I've managed to hack my own WEP encrypted network without a fuss... but I cannot seem to hack it when it's WPA2 encrypted.

    I've prepared a simple text file with a few random passes and the correct one. I first run the standard airodump-ng, then using aireplay-ng I force my PC to deauth (BTW: I'm running BT on my laptop), and thus I get a nice handshake.

    So, all's fine, right?

    Well, running aircrack-ng data.cap -w list.txt ends up with "Passphrase not in dictionary".

    I've also tried using the -p 1 command (I've read somewhere that when there are only a few passes in the wordlist aircrack might go nuts on a DualCore CPU). Still nothing.

    What else can I try / what am I doing wrong?
    What application did you use to make the password list?

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    Following what Barry said, I used to get into a lot of trouble when making a dic file in windows and then having trouble using it in BT..

    There are commands you can use like dos2linux to make sure that the lines dont contain anything that will mess it up for you when using as a wordlist in BT.

    Are the wordlists created in BT ?

  5. #5
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by =TAPE= View Post
    Following what Barry said, I used to get into a lot of trouble when making a dic file in windows and then having trouble using it in BT..

    There are commands you can use like dos2linux to make sure that the lines dont contain anything that will mess it up for you when using as a wordlist in BT.

    Are the wordlists created in BT ?
    That's basically what I was getting at. There's probably carriage returns in the file screwing things up.

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    Thats the word I was looking for , "carriage return"



    and just realised I posted saying dos2linux..

    uhhh

    meant dos2unix !!

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO nishant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    7

    Default @Barry

    I didn't use any tool to make the wordlist. I just opened the small and default wordlist that comes with aircrack-ng with Kate and appened my original WPA2 passphrase to the End of File and saved it. Still airacrack-ng is saying "Passphrase not in dictionary..." What do i do? This is really weird.

  8. #8
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    try a few different wordlist files.. just to be sure.


    Make a few with crunch, work with that.

    And just to be sure, you are pointing to the modified wordlist and not the original one right ?!

    Try to limit down the possible causes by testing more.

  9. #9
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nishant View Post
    I didn't use any tool to make the wordlist. I just opened the small and default wordlist that comes with aircrack-ng with Kate and appened my original WPA2 passphrase to the End of File and saved it. Still airacrack-ng is saying "Passphrase not in dictionary..." What do i do? This is really weird.
    So what app are you using to append the password to the existing list?


    Hey, here's a thought. Change your password to one of the ones already in the list. If it still says the password isn't in the list, your capture method is broken.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •