Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Timezone Issue

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    28

    Default Timezone Issue

    Not sure if this has been posted yet, I did do a search for it and have not found anything relevant to my issue. No matter which machine I install on my timezone is always an hour behind. I usally do a dual boot with windows, but during install when you choose timezone Chicago is always listed as -5 GMT when it should be -6.

    My apologies if this has already been posted.

    arche

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    76

    Default

    try dst off

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by manulu View Post
    try dst off
    Tried that already. Same result...

    Thanks

    arche

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by arche View Post
    Not sure if this has been posted yet, I did do a search for it and have not found anything relevant to my issue. No matter which machine I install on my timezone is always an hour behind. I usally do a dual boot with windows, but during install when you choose timezone Chicago is always listed as -5 GMT when it should be -6.

    My apologies if this has already been posted.

    arche
    Try it manually after the install from the command line and make sure it is lined up with what is in the bios, not to mention the other os that you are using.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archangel.amael View Post
    Try it manually after the install from the command line and make sure it is lined up with what is in the bios, not to mention the other os that you are using.
    After install I can manually do it fine, I was just wondering if there was a problem with the install script showing the wrong timezone time. No matter which machine I install on, it will always gives me the same result and I have to manually change it. When I boot from livecd it always shows the wrong time even though the bios and other OS has the right time. Was not sure if it was a bug, or loose screw behind the keyboard....

    arche

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by arche View Post
    After install I can manually do it fine, I was just wondering if there was a problem with the install script showing the wrong timezone time. No matter which machine I install on, it will always gives me the same result and I have to manually change it. When I boot from livecd it always shows the wrong time even though the bios and other OS has the right time. Was not sure if it was a bug, or loose screw behind the keyboard....

    arche
    If it works then I would say it is not a bug. But who knows.?
    It might be ok after a reboot, but I never paid attention to it, so I am not sure.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    76

    Default

    i don't kwon if this has something to do but i do the

    apt-get install ntp
    im editin 'couse every time i restar into backtrack the time its 4 hours behind i think it a millenium bug

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by arche View Post
    . . . my timezone is always an hour behind. I usally do a dual boot with windows, but during install when you choose timezone Chicago is always listed as -5 GMT when it should be -6.
    Just shooting into the dark... Are you sure the Chicago timezone is right for you? Is the Chicago timezone the same as that of New York?

    I'm with the New York's timezone, which is -5 GMT:

    Code:
    $ date
    Sun Nov 15 17:18:37 EST 2009
    
    $ date -R
    Sun, 15 Nov 2009 17:20:08 -0500
    BTW, moderator, I think it is time to lift the filtering/delay on my posting now. Check back my posts and you can clearly see that I am not a spammer...

  9. #9
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sfxpt View Post
    BTW, moderator, I think it is time to lift the filtering/delay on my posting now. Check back my posts and you can clearly see that I am not a spammer...
    The requirement for moderator approval of your posts will get automatically lifted after you have been a member for three days. Just wait.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •