Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: wifi card doesnt work

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    is there some way I can make my modify the backtrack iso so that it includes a wifi manager so that I don't have to reinstall one every time I start up a network because my network uses wpa and it seems a bit complicated to connect to via command line

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The new forums
    Posts
    462

    Default

    Leaders in Online Information Security Training » Customising BackTrack Live CD the Easy Way

    Personally I think you should try it out, get your hands dirty. If you're afraid of the the command line BT probably isn't for you.

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I did it before when I was testing the security of a wep network (hacks fast so now I know never to use PERIOD) without knowing when I was doing the ifup and down and stuff because I was just learning then and following a guide. So I can do it it's just remembering the commands that might be the problem but I could get a hang of it if I wanted but I'm busy with so much more (making a game in c/c++, learning BSD sockets, learing openssl, creating own custom network server to add functionality to computer aka turn computer off from psp, and so much more)

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    This lead me to the second post which states "By the way Linux reports the Wifi as AR5006EG when it's actually the AR5007."I also using BackTrack 4 NON working hardware.

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    it's not the hardware driver problems because I was able to get the ifup wlan0 and it scanned and showed my router. Now I just have to figure out how to connect to the internets :|) <- politicians often have double chins

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I did it before when I was testing the security of a wep network (hacks fast so now I know never to use PERIOD) without knowing when I was doing the ifup and down and stuff because I was just learning then and following a guide. So I can do it it's just remembering the commands that might be the problem but I could get a hang of it if I wanted but I'm busy with so much more (making a game in c/c++, learning BSD sockets, learing openssl, creating own custom network server to add functionality to computer aka turn computer off from psp, and so much more)

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    why would you quote me like that? I know i did it while testing the security of a network but I would like to know how to do it for wpa2/p(?) too and the wirless manage was working on that too because I used bt3. I'll have to play with it because I managed to get the network up just need to know how to connect to it.

    edit: just got it working i used a tutorial from ubuntu forums for some other driver and It worked. needed to modify the interfaces file

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •