Thread: WEP Cracking long?

Just burned his ISO

Default WEP Cracking long?

Hello,

newbie here,

currently trying to crack my 128 bit wep, uses a pretty basic number password,

i am cracking it using backtrace 3, with aodump, airplay, aircrack

i guess what i am confused about is, i cracked it once roughly around 125k data points using the "-z" option.

everything i read said this should only take around 40-80k in points

but the next time i ran it, i got to 300k in points and it still wasn't cracked..???

i see a bunch of video's of people cracking 128bit in like 5 minutes.

it took over 20 some minutes to get 100k in data points and thats with injection and sitting a foot from the router?

any hints/help?

"One of the most magnificent features of an online forum is that as time goes by, there is generally more information available. What this means is that your best resource is the search feature. Most of the topics created on a daily basis have been addressed previously, you can learn more than you think by taking the time to search for your answer before posting your question. Doing things for yourself means taking the assembled body of knowledge on this forum and the Internet in general and applying it to your issue to learn something new. Before you ask a question, learn as much as you can about the issue so that your question is asked more intelligently." -theprez98

use this magical feature
    Remote Exploit Forums - Search Forums
    1000 times this topic has been covered.one of the most common question ever asked.

Just burned his ISO

Quote Originally Posted by Deadboy View Post