Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Noob asks: How to install RT2870 Chipset into BT4 VMWare?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Noob asks: How to install RT2870 Chipset into BT4 VMWare?

    Hi guys,

    i got an D-Link DWA-140 Wifi Adapter with RT2870 Chipset. I connect it to my Windows 7 and installed the driver. Then startet the Backtrack 4 VMWare and started "startx". In the console I typed iwconfig -a. But it says "No such device".

    How to install RT2870 Chipset into BT4 VM to work with aircrack?

    Best regards from germany.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Noob asks: How to install RT2870 Chipset into BT4 VMWare?

    If you're just typing iwconfig -a its always going to say "No such device". You're telling it to look for an interface called -a, which doesn't exist. What does it say when you just type iwconfig?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Noob asks: How to install RT2870 Chipset into BT4 VMWare?

    It says:

    Code:
    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    What to do now?

    Thanks for reply!

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Noob asks: How to install RT2870 Chipset into BT4 VMWare?

    It would appear that one of two things (or maybe both)is going on:
    Firstly it is possible that the virtual machine is not seeing the USB device. You need to check that the USB passthrough is correctly setup to ensure the VM interfaces directly with the usb port. Also worth checking you have installed the VMWare tools as detailed here: BT4 VM Install

    If that is all in order it may be worth trying to recompile the drivers to work with the BT4 Final kernel, you should be able to adapt the instructions here:
    Alfa AWUS050NH + rt2x00 from compat-wireless - Remote Exploit Forums

    Let me know how you get on as I am considering buying a card with that chipset.

    Aleks

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Noob asks: How to install RT2870 Chipset into BT4 VMWare?

    RT2870 chipset
    It's a Ralink chipset and it doesn't work well in aircrack-ng... I've tried many USB wifi adapters with RT2870 chipset
    You might buy another one with Realtek 8187L chipset. It really work well in BT4 (Pre and Final)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 01:51 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2010, 07:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •