Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: toshiba netbook nb205 wireless adapter isnt working

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1

    Exclamation toshiba netbook nb205 wireless adapter isnt working

    i was wondering if anybody knows how to get the internet working using bt3 i have it installed on a thumb drive but once i get it up in running im pretty much lost lol so any help would b nice

    thanx

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    35

    Default

    kind of hard to help you when you only posted the model number of the computer.

    The wireless card is the key device your asking about so you need to lookup the specs and post the chipset of the wireless device.

    Better yet do a search of the forums with the model number of the of the wireless card or the chipset type of the wireless card and read the backtrack 3 posts that come up.

    That will tell you if your card is supported by bt3.

    If your really clueless you probably will have better luck with backtrack 4 as its based on ubuntu 8.10 and you can post your newbie questions about linux in their forums where they probably will be recived better.

    Most of the members here are not linux newbies they are mainly security pros


    also you can open a terminal/shell and type ifconfig

    Code:
    dlt@mbl:~$ ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1X:33:BZ:09:1K
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
              Interrupt:28 Base address:0xc000
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:170 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:170 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:8500 (8.5 KB)  TX bytes:8500 (8.5 KB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:24:G2:67:25:98
              inet addr:192.168.1.47  Bcast:255.255.255.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fa80::214:d5ff:fc67:2598/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:8608 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:5751 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:4558124 (4.5 MB)  TX bytes:1059972 (1.0 MB)
    
    wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-24-E2-66-98-98-35-39-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
              UP RUNNING  MTU:0  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    
    dlt@mbl:~$
    also you can open a terminal/shell and type iwconfig

    Code:
    dlt@mbl:~$ iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    wmaster0  no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"wazoo"
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:11:22:33:44:55
              Bit Rate=1 Mb/s   Tx-Power=27 dBm
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality=13/70  Signal level=-97 dBm  Noise level=-101 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    
    dlt@mbl:~$
    should look something like that

    mine is wlan0

    then read this tutorial
    Code:
    forums.remote-exploit.org/tutorials-guides/1489-howto-configure-network-cards.html
    good luck

    DLRADLT
    Just cause I don't have ten thousand posts don't mean I'm a newbie or a Idiot ! :cool: The only dumb question is the one you don't ask Google first! ;) The biggest problem I had as a Linux newbie was I didn't know to ask Google the right questions!:eek:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •