Thread: Why shouldnt backtrack be my main os ???

Hybrid View

Thumbs up Why shouldnt backtrack be my main os ???

I've been dual-booting backtrack4 and vista for a few months now. I keep seeing different post comments about not using backtrack as my main Os but I've never seen a reasonable explanation as to why.

Everything I've tried to make work has...

I've changed my vista boot-loader to default to backtrack...

I've updated to the latest backtrack kernal 2.6.30.5

Its got everything I need and works on all of my computers is stable Ect...

So why is it recomended not to use it full-time.

I'm seriously considering reformatting my Hd to rid myself of Microsoft entirely

I've been playing with linux since the early 90's and as far as i'm concerned its ready for everyone...

Microsoft keeps getting worse and worse while linux keeps getting better and better.

So why shouldn't Backtrack be my main Os?

All Comments Welcome

Thanks

DLRADLT
    Just cause I don't have ten thousand posts don't mean I'm a newbie or a Idiot ! :cool: The only dumb question is the one you don't ask Google first! ;) The biggest problem I had as a Linux newbie was I didn't know to ask Google the right questions!:eek:

backtrack be my main os ???
    you can use it as main OS.its all upto you and your need.its stable & robust OS.

nobody

just alot of comments about it not being recommended

so why isn't it recommended

Thanks again
    DLRADLT
    Just cause I don't have ten thousand posts don't mean I'm a newbie or a Idiot ! :cool: The only dumb question is the one you don't ask Google first! ;) The biggest problem I had as a Linux newbie was I didn't know to ask Google the right questions!:eek:

Cause its not regular distro or day-to-day usable distro for most of the newbies as for such purpose there are other flavors,like Fedora/Ubuntu etc.its specifically built, customized distro made for serious penetration testing.

Is that the only reason ?