Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Unable to boot live cd

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Unable to boot live cd

    Hi, Sorry for posting this here. Ive been searching for an answer to my problem for the last couple of days. While Ive found plenty similliar issues none that quite matched what Im having a problem with.

    I am currently running a dual boot system vista/ubuntu 9.04. I do not want to install BT4 as of yet and would like to run it from the livecd. However when booting from cd it goes into the grub console.

    I have assured that my cd drive is the first bootable device and have tinkered with many other options I have found in my searches in hopes of getting this to work. However I have failed in all attempts.

    So basically my question is... Is it possible to boot to the cd using the grub console?

    Thank you ever so much in advance all help is most appreciated.

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Will the cd boot other computers?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Yes, It boots up on my other pc and laptop just fine. Both are just single boot however and not running any other linux OS.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    267

    Default

    Weird stuff. I had the same setup as you did, and it worked just fine for me (now running win7+buntu 9.4+backtrack 4 prefinal).

    Try disabling/enabling "boot other device" options in the BIOS.

    And (this seems like a stupid question but I have to ask): are you sure your laptop has a DVD drive?

    Did you by any chance burn the image to a dual layer DVD, or a rewritable one (that could also be the problem).

  5. #5
    Member zWiReDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Your CD drive could be on the fritz. Make sure your CD drive can read DVDs if that is what you burned the ISO onto.
    "If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid." - Murphy's Laws of combat, #2

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for the replies, I will give that a try. No question is a stupid question (tho others may beg to differ.) I am however positive my pc has a DVD drive. In fact it has two, both a DVD writer and a blueray drive.

    I burnt the disk to a memorex +R dvd at 4x (the lowest rate available).

    Im pretty sure that either of my drives are on the fritz as the system is less then a month old and has never gaven me any issues other then this. Also the disk is being read by both vista and ubuntu once booted up.

    The sad part of this in my opinion is that I just graduated AIT in the US ARMY as a IT analyst/specialist with high honours lol. Yet cant seem to get this to work. Im sure its something simple Im overlooking and perhaps taking a break and coming at it in a couple of days.

    Thank you again for all your help. As i said ill give your suggestion a shot.

  7. #7
    Member zWiReDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    123

    Default

    If I could ask, what rank are you? Just curious I might be going into the army soon. Rangers batallion then SF. Oh as for the whole cd problem, try burning another one in windows, if that doesn't work try using an external DVD drive if you have one laying around.
    "If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid." - Murphy's Laws of combat, #2

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi sadly im just a private, fresh out of AIT about only a month ago. Ive tried reburning the disk to see if it was the problem and no luck there either. Im really at a loss here.

  9. #9
    Member zWiReDz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Ah that sucks man. Anyways lets get back on topic and stay there. (Sorry for taking it off track ) Did you try my external drive idea? Maybe a VMware install?
    "If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid." - Murphy's Laws of combat, #2

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Heh, Im just a lowly private as I stated earlier fresh out of AIT. As for the disk not booting. I havent yet found a solution on my desktop however I have opted out for just installing it on my laptop. Prolly a better bet in the long run anyways.

    Its up and running but now Im faced with a whole new problem lol. connecting to a network >.< We were taught linux at AIT however never really went into networking a linux box thru the CLI.

    Being use to xp,vista and ubuntu im searching everywhere for a box to click that says connect here. Im sure to figure it out tho. Thank god I love learning lol

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •