Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Persistent Resolution

  1. #1
    Junior Member najib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    52

    Unhappy Persistent Resolution

    Hye,

    I have a nvidia graphic card (Driver installed)
    with a wide Flatron LG 23" Monitor
    The resolution I have at boot is 1920x1200
    But the resolution that fit my eyes is 1680x1050

    I have changed resolution to 1680x1050 with Resize and Rotate (the little icon in the systray)
    But every time I reboot the resolution come back to 1920x1200.



    NjB

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by najib View Post
    Hye,

    I have a nvidia graphic card (Driver installed)
    with a wide Flatron LG 23" Monitor
    The resolution I have at boot is 1920x1200
    But the resolution that fit my eyes is 1680x1050

    I have changed resolution to 1680x1050 with Resize and Rotate (the little icon in the systray)
    But every time I reboot the resolution come back to 1920x1200.



    NjB
    Well, you could edit xorg.conf and delete all other resolution options leaving only the one you want.

  3. #3
    Junior Member najib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    52

    Default xorg.conf

    In my xorg.conf, I don't have any line about screen resolution !!

    Here is a part of my config file :
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Device0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    :-/NjB/

  4. #4
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    There are 2 xorg.conf files. Have you tried both? use the search in the text editor and search for "display".

  5. #5
    Junior Member najib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    52

    Default

    I have in fact nine "xorg.conf" files
    One is original and the others are backups.

    About display I only have this information
    ---
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    ---

  6. #6
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by najib View Post
    I have in fact nine "xorg.conf" files
    One is original and the others are backups.

    About display I only have this information
    ---
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    ---
    then try xrandr command. I don't know how to use it (never had to), but you can use xrandr -h and man xrandr to learn how to use it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •