Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: BackTrack 4 Pre Final Kernel Update

  1. #1
    Developer muts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    272

    Default BackTrack 4 Pre Final Kernel Update

    We have pushed a new kernel to the repository and updated several drivers. The upgrade process is a bit convoluted, but has been streamlined for the future. For now, run these commands from your backtrack box to update to the latest kernel and drivers: apt-get update apt-get install -d linux-image cd /var/cache/apt/archives/ dpkg -i –force all linux-image-2.6.30.5_2.6.30.5-10.00.Custom_i386.deb apt-get dist-upgrade apt-get install [...]

    More...

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    114

    Default

    mistake found :-D :

    "dpkg -i --force-all linux-image-2.6.30.5_2.6.30.5-10.00.Custom_i386.deb"


    but "apt-get dist-upgrade" have reverted piryt to old 0.2.3
    (now compiled 0.2.5 from svn)

    re-edit /boot/grub/menu.lst to add 2.6.30.5
    re-install nvidia-drivers

    uname-a
    Linux BackTrack 2.6.30.5 #1 SMP Wed Aug 26 16:47:02 EDT 2009 i686 GNU/Linux


    thank for upgrade
    acer 5920g , 345abg , nvidia 8600m
    bt5 kde 64bit + acpi + cuda 4.0 / nvidia 270.40 / pyrit

  3. #3
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Yaaaay! Back to no working video!!!

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi,

    I have installed the new kernel and I would like to make a couple of comments, so that you can implement them in case you consider it appropriate.

    The first is concerning high memory. My laptop has 4GiB of RAM and both with the new kernel and the previous one, only 3GiB were recognized. I have recompiled the kernel using then CONFIG_HIGHMEM64G option instead of CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G, which is the one used by default. With CONFIG_HIGHMEM64G the 4GiB are recognized without any problem.

    The laptop also has a Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g [14e4:4315] wireless network interface, which uses the broadcom-sta driver. After upgrading the kernel following the procedure explained in the blog, the broadcom-sta package is upgraded as well but it seems that the module in the new package is compiled for the 2.6.29.4 kernel, even though it is copied in the /lib/modules/2.6.30.5 directory. When the module is loaded an error is generated stating that the magic number of the kernel is 2.6.29.4.

    I hope it helps somehow.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thanks for the tip about the mem, i'll try that to.

  6. #6
    HKdnp
    Guest

    Default

    worked good for me thx muts..

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default thx

    thanks a lot from me too!
    old enough 2 know better, but young enough to not see a reason for

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Not working for me.

    I have a BT4 running in a vmware machine, after I did this kernel update following the steps in the blog, the machine has been having slow downs, the mouse pointer moves too slow and I can't type neither.

    Any help?

  9. #9
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 5p4wn View Post
    Not working for me.

    I have a BT4 running in a vmware machine, after I did this kernel update following the steps in the blog, the machine has been having slow downs, the mouse pointer moves too slow and I can't type neither.

    Any help?
    Reinstall bt4 to vmware, take a snapshot BEFORE kernel upgrade, upgrade kernel (make sure to follow every step) and if it doesn't work, revert you virtual machine to the previous state. I wouldn't worry about not having the new kernel for now.

  10. #10
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    15

    Question Pardon the newbness

    Does this mean the bt4-pre-final.iso has been updated, or do I still need to patch?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •