Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: No Wireless extensions :S

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default No Wireless extensions :S

    hey all

    (trednet TEW-643PI "PCI card")

    I have searched and searched but can not really find the melody in backtrack yet. arrives safely, I hope

    but I run with VMware backtrack 4th
    my wireless card can backtrack easily find (it seems)
    I think I started it up right etfer what I have found answers.
    some I write iwconfig gives the answer (no wireless extensions)
    and inside the Wicd network manager. I can not see a network
    and I can see they are there in windows.

    but I sing I can understand that it is only USB wireless card that works, but could not quite figure out it. whether it was just understood: /?

    / / Romlund

  2. #2
    Junior Member jnt13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: No Wireless extensions :S

    uhhh? very poetic post I guess. You must be using some type of translator.

    what type of card/chipset are you using

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: No Wireless extensions :S

    Hi

    sorry, I'm not so good at English
    (google translator)

    chipsets .. yes have searched and searched. but could not figure it out. but it would be from Atheros, I think. what I've read me but what the chip name is .. I do not know: /

    / / Rome

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: No Wireless extensions :S

    In virtual machines you will need USB WLAN device
    Last edited by halfdone; 03-12-2010 at 09:37 PM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member micole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: No Wireless extensions :S

    Quote Originally Posted by Romlund View Post
    but I sing I can understand that it is only USB wireless card that works, but could not quite figure out it. whether it was just understood: /?
    I think he was asking "Why" it doesn't work... Link: http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...irtualbox.html

    Reason: virtualization (Virtual Machine, or Virtual Box) both make your internal wireless card into a "Virtual Ethernet" adapter. So what is really happening is when you are in BT4 it only sees the Virtual Ethernet, and the reason they have done this is so the "Host" machine and the "Virtual" machine can talk through the software and the Virtual can get on the internet. (This is why when you install Virtual Box in windows it turns off your internet connection for a second while it installs the middle ground drivers.)
    Common Knowledge: Username, "root". Password, "toor". "startx" gives you a GUI, and "fix-vesa" will fix BT if you have no GUI. Start networking with "/etc/init.d/networking start" and check your IP settings with "ifconfig -a". "dhclient" will automatically use DHCP for your IP. Google is your friend.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •