Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: keyboard and tochpad not working

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default keyboard and tochpad not working

    hi admin and member
    on start backtrack 3 and 4
    but in 3 and 4 keyboard missing
    and not can type
    plz help
    my labtop dell vostro 1520

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    not someone help me?
    I really need this program
    Or why not keyboards work

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by satanic_soulful View Post
    not someone help me?
    I really need this program
    Or why not keyboards work
    Did you log on?
    Or did the keyboard not work by typing in the password?
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archangel.amael View Post
    Did you log on?
    Or did the keyboard not work by typing in the password?
    i can not typig user name az password in begin

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    55

    Default

    I'm having the same problem with the same computer. I just simply don't know enough to even think about where to start addressing this issue.

    The interesting this is, the LiveCD works just fine for me at least. and the persistent USB. Except with the USB, after the first reboot, the persistent option no longer recognizes the keyboard....so then I would pick the first option (the normal liveCD 1024x768).....and that'll work once, and then I have to pick the 800x600 and then that'll work once...and so on.

    Any ideas as to what changes might effect the keyboard and touchpad being loaded?

    EDIT: Someone has a successful fix... http://forums.remote-exploit.org/new...ro-1510-a.html

    Going to try this out and report back.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Hmm. So I added i8042.reset to the end of the kernel line for the persistent changes boot option in grub's menu.lst.

    The keyboard seems to be fixed, but now the changes aren't saving. Strange.

  7. #7

    Default

    HAhahahahahaha, I have this same problem with my dell vostro 1510, just type a lot of garbage (after it says "ready..." on bt4 pre final) until it start saying a few stuff, I type "bryanne" as fast as I can and it works, sometimes it doesnt, its a hardware incompability thing . . .

    (Oh, I see now, I dint saw you had a vostro as well . . . )
    :cool:
    :cool:
    Alienware M17x - Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme QX9300
    Dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 280M GPUs
    8GB DDR3-1333 RAM
    Dual 500GB
    :cool:
    :cool:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •