Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ettercap GTK with BT4

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default Ettercap GTK with BT4

    I now tested Ettercap GTK on BT4.
    I joined my test wep network with one PC and on the other one I connected with BT4 to ettercap.

    I choose MTM, netmask etc. like always and went on my PC to a website from which I know that the Password is shown in ettercap. (studivz.net]studiVZ | Bist Du schon drin?[/url])

    But nothing happens in etterccap using BT4.

    With BT3, no Problem. The Certificate Failure appears and if you try to load the website again, the password is shown in ettercap.

    Are there Problems in BT4?
    I`m even wondering wheres my MDK3 ?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO sandaili's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by appreciated View Post
    I now tested Ettercap GTK on BT4.
    I joined my test wep network with one PC and on the other one I connected with BT4 to ettercap.

    I choose MTM, netmask etc. like always and went on my PC to a website from which I know that the Password is shown in ettercap. (studivz.net]studiVZ | Bist Du schon drin?[/url])

    But nothing happens in etterccap using BT4.

    With BT3, no Problem. The Certificate Failure appears and if you try to load the website again, the password is shown in ettercap.

    Are there Problems in BT4?
    I`m even wondering wheres my MDK3 ?
    I am having the same issue with Ettercap, my pop account shows up but no http passwords that previously showed up in BT3. Hmmm!!! I don't know why.
    *I'm a girl, not a guy. Why do I care? The same reason a guy would care if he was constantly thought of as a girl...*

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    23

    Default

    looks like ettercap has problems sniffing the ssl password. I did try using the ettercap and with the following command:
    ettercap -Tqi ath0 -l sslpasswd -M arp:remote /gateway-ip/ /victim-ip/

    The ssl certificate warning does show up but no password was captured.

    Note: i did modify the /etc/etter.conf

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Use the write-up by g0tmi1k to use sslstrip to strip the certificate and leave it in plaintext.

    Code:
    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/backtrack-4-howto/24426-video-tutorial-how-crack-snifff-ssl-https-sslstrip.html

  5. #5
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    [Video+Tutorial] How to: Crack snifff SSL / HTTPS (sslstrip)

    EDIT: Sorry, didn't saw that the link was already posted.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Hope it will work fine in the final BT4 Version soon.

  7. #7
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by appreciated View Post
    Hope it will work fine in the final BT4 Version soon.
    It works for me... So it should work.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3

    Wink Same issue.

    Good O'l Ettercap works fine in bt3 but not getting ssl data in bt4. If anyone finds a workaround please let me know! I will post if I find one myself.

    Thanks!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    47

    Default

    I am having also the same problem with ssl

    Let's hope they will fix it in the final version.

  10. #10
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spyingeye View Post
    Good O'l Ettercap works fine in bt3 but not getting ssl data in bt4. If anyone finds a workaround please let me know! I will post if I find one myself.

    Thanks!
    Quote Originally Posted by ASTRAPI View Post
    I am having also the same problem with ssl

    Let's hope they will fix it in the final version.
    Didn't you 2 read the thread? There is already a link to the solution...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •