Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: BT 4 Pre-Final: Howto grub splash fix, boot splash, gui login menu, kmenu dragon icon

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default BT 4 Pre-Final: Howto grub splash fix, boot splash, gui login menu, kmenu dragon icon

    Some very simple minor fixes that you can add/improve to your BackTrack 4. This guide will work permanently on installed versions of backtrack 4! (thanks to smtx for pointing it out)

    1) Howto grub splash fix:

    This is a very easy fix, all you need to do is to use your favourite text editor and to edit a line in /boot/grub/menu.lst. I personally use vim so I would be doing:
    Code:
    sudo vim /boot/grub/menu.lst
    I then search for the phrase bt4.xpm.gz:
    Code:
    /bt4.xpm.gz[enter]
    I replace the lines (yours may vary abit) from:
    Code:
    image=[uuid]/boot/grub/bt4.xpm.gz
    to:
    Code:
    splashimage=/boot/grub/bt4.xpm.gz
    and to save changes:
    Code:
    :x
    Reboot and you should have a working grub splash.

    2) Howto boot splash:

    Credit does not belong to me on this one but to muts who used to have it on his blog.

    Code:
    sudo fix-splash
    or
    Code:
    sudo fix-splash800
    If you have a custom menu.lst setup, including the setup of grub splash method above is to comment out the last 3 lines but not the last one in fix-splash, i.e.:

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    echo "[*] Fixing Initrd"
    cd /boot/
    mkdir -p tmp
    rm -rf tmp/*
    cp initrd.img-$(uname -r) tmp/initrd.gz
    cd tmp/
    echo "[*] Extracting Initrd"
    gzip -dc initrd.gz |cpio -id
    cp /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/modules.dep lib/modules/$(uname -r)/
    cat lib/modules/$(uname -r)/modules.dep |sed "/hid-dummy/d" > lib/modules/$(uname -r)/modules.dep1
    mv lib/modules/$(uname -r)/modules.dep1 lib/modules/$(uname -r)/modules.dep
    cp /opt/bootsplash/bootsplash .
    find ./ | cpio -H newc -o > initrd
    gzip initrd
    mv initrd.gz ../initrd.img-$(uname -r)
    cd ..
    cat /boot/grub/menu.lst |sed "s/splash/vga=0x317/g" > /boot/grub/menu.lst1
    mv /boot/grub/menu.lst1 /boot/grub/menu.lst
    echo "[*] Reboot and bask in the joys of BootSplash"
    into:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    echo "[*] Fixing Initrd"
    cd /boot/
    mkdir -p tmp
    rm -rf tmp/*
    cp initrd.img-$(uname -r) tmp/initrd.gz
    cd tmp/
    echo "[*] Extracting Initrd"
    gzip -dc initrd.gz |cpio -id
    cp /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/modules.dep lib/modules/$(uname -r)/
    cat lib/modules/$(uname -r)/modules.dep |sed "/hid-dummy/d" > lib/modules/$(uname -r)/modules.dep1
    mv lib/modules/$(uname -r)/modules.dep1 lib/modules/$(uname -r)/modules.dep
    cp /opt/bootsplash/bootsplash .
    find ./ | cpio -H newc -o > initrd
    gzip initrd
    mv initrd.gz ../initrd.img-$(uname -r)
    cd ..
    # cat /boot/grub/menu.lst |sed "s/splash/vga=0x317/g" > /boot/grub/menu.lst1
    # mv /boot/grub/menu.lst1 /boot/grub/menu.lst
    echo "[*] Reboot and bask in the joys of BootSplash"
    If you still fail to see the console splash, you may want to try appending splash into /boot/grub/menu.lst, e.g. from:

    Code:
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.29.4 root=UUID=[UUID] ro quiet vga=0x317
    to:
    Code:
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.29.4 root=UUID=[UUID] ro quiet splash vga=0x317
    Alternatively, you can also use something like splashy if you want for fancy console splash including animated boot up (not animated bootloader bootup but console splash for booting up process)

    N.B.: vga=0x317 is vesa mode for higher console resolution, yours may vary, if you want to try it out you can try using vga=ask and hit enter when it boots to see the list of options available. Settings of the numbers vary from kernels and from video chip I think.

    3) Howto GUI Login Menu:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install kdm-kde3
    Ignore any errors. there should only be two lines of it fyi. Reboot and you will get a plain GUI login menu for kde that has welcome message for Kubuntu but these are customisable under:
    KMenu > System > Settings > System Administration > Login Manager

    4) Howto kmenu dragon icon:

    I have noticed a few people asking and complaining why when one boots up the livedvd/liveusb they get the dragon image on their kmenu icon but once they installed it, it is replaced with a standard kmenu icon. The reason is simple, livesetup goes into root account and the icon resides in /root but once you installed it the stuff doesn't get copied across to your /home/$user directory however its still in /root.

    So I have written a small script to handle it:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    sudo unzip -o /root/.kde3/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/kmenu-dragon.zip -d /home/*/.kde3/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/
    sudo unzip -o /root/.kde3/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/kmenu-dragon.zip -d /etc/.skel/.kde3/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/
    sudo unzip -o /root/.kde3/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/kmenu-dragon-zip -d /opt/kde/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/
    Copy and paste that into your favourite text editor.. save it as whatever you want.. for convenience sake I would have the file extension as .sh so I will know its a shell script. chmod the file as executable i.e.:
    Code:
    chmod 700 foo.sh
    and execute it:
    Code:
    ./foo.sh
    After running you may need to re-login for the changes to have an effect.

    Enjoy!

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO Michaetito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Hi, thanks for great how to. Just a little thing i would like to say, hopefully i am not mistaken but some security measure in KDM do not allow login as root. So: locate kdmrc and change line: AllowRootLogin=false to AllowRootLogin=true. If you have various desktop managers you have several kdmrc files, so find the right one.

  3. #3
    Member mixit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Thanks for the tut. Does anyone know how to change the screen resolution in GRUB to allow for larger/better quality images? I googled around for a bit, but didnt find any definitive answers.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MixIt View Post
    Thanks for the tut. Does anyone know how to change the screen resolution in GRUB to allow for larger/better quality images? I googled around for a bit, but didnt find any definitive answers.
    Hey thanks for the Hi-jack. Does anyone know how to use google?
    Come on I took grub screen resolution and put it into google and well I got a whole bunch of links back. So I suggest you try the same.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #5
    Member mixit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Alright, well thanks for jumpin on me. I did actually put some effort in. Not sure if you actually clicked on any of those links, but most of them are people bickering about whether or not the methods posted actually worked. I was wondering if anyone knew definitively how to change the resolution, because people in the forums brought up by google did not.

    In case anyone is interested, this describes in detail, values to add to menu.lst to set GRUB resolutions:

    hxxp://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=258484&highlight=grub+resolution

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MixIt View Post
    Alright, well thanks for jumpin on me. I did actually put some effort in. Not sure if you actually clicked on any of those links,
    Why should I check the links? You have the problem, not me.
    Furthermore, the whole point was to get you started/ headed in the right direction.
    Besides that, your previous post did not prove that you did anything more than take the time to make a post.
    Me stating that "I googled a bit" is really rather moot.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  7. #7
    mcurran
    Guest

    Default

    If anyone wants to restore the dragon/bt4 background for the grub menu - Here's what to put in menu.lst, just above the first menu entry:

    splashimage=/boot/grub/bt4.xpm.gz

    UPDATE: The kmenu dragon script is no longer needed for the latest bt4 release.

    mcurran

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Code:
    Depth 	800×600 	1024×768 	1152×864 	1280×1024 	1600×1200
    8 bit 	vga=771 	vga=773 	vga=353 	vga=775 	vga=796
    16 bit 	vga=788 	vga=791 	vga=355 	vga=794 	vga=798
    24 bit 	vga=789 	vga=792 	        	vga=795 	vga=799
    Just in-case anyone wanted some VGA codes.

    Hope I dont get flagged for hijacking :x

  9. #9
    Good friend of the forums Eatme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Socks5
    Posts
    308

    Default

    how come my vga says 314 but i dont see code 314 up there ?
    Wiffy-Auto-Cracker - was the best thing that ever happen to me. :) Wo0oT :)
    AWUSO36H_500mW_5dBi Antenna

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Not sure.. i believe those are the standard sizes.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •