Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: slow wpa

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default slow wpa

    Hi EVerybody,
    I am a little noob but got some questions.

    When I do a normal aircrack of a wpa it runs with 200-300 cracks per second
    So it takes forever.

    I ran some dictionary files with 5 milliion common words in them but password not in dictionary.

    I see the big 33 gig rainbow at: renderlab.net WPA-tables 33 gig
    But it seems the rainbow there only has a 1 million passwords and it HAS to be some specific in the list?
    So basically the rainbow list is worthless if someone has a password like:

    l0ngnondictionarypass01
    ?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Yes. Which is why anyone who has a wlan and knows anything about it have passwords like that...

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I hear some people that said they could even use bruteforce and make it crack it.

    What is the best way for bruteforce if we assume their key is max 8-10 in length and numbers and eltters

    ./crunch 8 8 ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ | cowpatty -f - -s <essid> -r /path/to/cap/file.cap

    or should I use john + aircrack.
    What is fastest on this slow laptop?

  4. #4
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Mh is that your WLAN or one you need access to?

    That matters for telling you the fastest way.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I try to crack my own wpa2 linksys now that has a 9 character letter password.

    How long will that take with the aircrack +john incremental?

    Can I use a GPU someway?

  6. #6
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by benjsh View Post
    I try to crack my own wpa2 linksys now that has a 9 character letter password.

    How long will that take with the aircrack +john incremental?

    Can I use a GPU someway?
    Depending, if you want to try bruteforce with an old laptop try to set your password to 3 or max 4 characters.

    With an old laptop GPU isn't an option either.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  7. #7
    Senior Member kidFromBigD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    159

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KMDave View Post
    Depending, if you want to try bruteforce with an old laptop try to set your password to 3 or max 4 characters.
    ...<snip>...
    Hmm, I think you may be required to set the WPA passphrase to a minimum of 8 characters. Others on this forum have said as such, and experience with my router confirms this. Just FYI.
    You. Are. Doing. It. Wrong.
    -Gitsnik

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Ok
    I am now trying a machine with pyrit
    and I got the the nvidia compiled

    so i run a

    ./crunch 8 8 123456 | pyrit -e e960 -f - passthrough | cowpatty -d - -r 1249555555-01.cap -s e960

    and I get the error:

    cowpatty: Could not stat hashfile. Check file path.

    Usage: cowpatty [options]

    -f Dictionary file
    -d Hash file (genpmk)
    -r Packet capture file
    -s Network SSID (enclose in quotes if SSID includes spaces)
    -h Print this help information and exit
    -v Print verbose information (more -v for more verbosity)
    -V Print program version and exit

    IOError while writing to stdout ignored...

    I tried with cowpatty 4.6 now
    but still get an error

    if i run aircrack on the file it works.


    ./crunch 8 8 123456 | pyrit -e e960 -f - passthrough | cowpatty -d - -r 1249551496-01.cap -s e960


    cowpatty 4.6 - WPA-PSK dictionary attack. <jwright@hasborg.com>

    End of pcap capture file, incomplete four-way handshake exchange. Try using a
    different capture.
    IOError while writing to stdout ignored..

    It seems to start working now with the latest latest cowpatty.

    Another problem is that it keep saying the handshake is not good even though with aircrack the handshake is fine.

    cowpatty 4.6 - WPA-PSK dictionary attack. <jwright@hasborg.com>

    End of pcap capture file, incomplete four-way handshake exchange. Try using a
    different capture.
    IOError while writing to stdout ignored...

  9. #9
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    I have gone over this in 10 different threads in the last few weeks so a little searching may be in order.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Dear Pureh@te
    I actaully read all your reply because it is most detailed.

    I keep having the problems that when I use pyrit in combination with cowputty it complains the handshake are not good enough even if they work in Aircrack.

    I also downloaded the aircrack-ng-cuda version
    but I get an errors on compile
    make CUDA=true

    sh: nvopencc command not found

    I tried some other handshake where cowpatty worked with pyrit. But in most cases it complains about the handshake and aircrack-ng always works

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •