Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 103

Thread: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

  1. #61
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    I just deleted the ones I don't use and added my wlan1 which was my adapter, than downloaded wireless drivers from the internet and installed them.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  2. #62
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Quote Originally Posted by CodeINe View Post
    The first commands wouldn't start anything for me, I did some searching and found this instead :

    Code:
    cd /etc/init.d
    bash networking start
    Which does the job properly.
    This worked for me too. For a little while. I could see wireless networks and connect to them. But after a few days it stopped working. I can't see or connect to any wireless netowork. I am using broadcom bcm4318 BT4 hard drive install.

  3. #63
    Just burned his ISO jon_doe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Quote Originally Posted by CoderTurK View Post
    Hi my Backtrack 4 wireless connection problem .

    iwconfig wlan0 essid (networkname) key (psw)

    but this problem

    Error for wireless request set encode (8B2A)

    invalid argument (psw)

    whats problem
    I was getting this error as well.

    To connect to wireless using WPA/WPA2 in Backtrack 4:

    1. Create a file /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf, copy and paste in the following

    network={
    ssid="<network>"
    psk="<key>"
    }

    Replace <network> with the name of your network, e.g. linksys, and replace <key> with your passphrase e.g. p@$$w0rd.

    Now save it.

    2. In a new shell write:

    chmod 755 /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

    Hit return.

    3. Then,

    wpa_supplicant -i <interface> -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

    replace <interface> with the name of your interface, e.g wlan0

    Hit return again.

    You will see some action in this shell, leave it open and open another one.

    4. Finally,

    dhclient <interface>

    replace <interface> with the name of your interface, e.g wlan0

  4. #64
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Hi there,

    I am having trouble getting connected to my wireless (wlan0). Dhclient works fine on my wired(eth0) but times out on my wlan0 interface.

    [BT4 Medium]: Laptop hard drive install
    [Adapter]: Broadcom BCM4306 (rev3)
    [Router]: Linksys WRT54GX
    [Encryption]: WPA

    Everything seems to be functioning but I do not see any Wireless Networks listed when I open WICD. BT4 detects my adapter and all of the wireless tools detect it as well. I had it seemingly working for a bit last night (detected my network and a neighbors), but when I turned my laptop back on it was not functioning. I have a feeling it is similar to the other posters issue about having to be directly beside the AP, however I can't replicate it with enough accuracy to be sure and the fact I picked up a random network also contradicts that claim. I know the AP is fine as I have another laptop (although running windows) that is able to connect and there are no filters configured. Any insight on this?

    I've followed guides on the wpa_supplicant, bc43xx drivers, interfaces file, and wicd. I just did a fresh install of BT4 in an attempt to see if I made anything worse by editing settings.

    I have read through this thread and tried any relevant fixes to no consistent success. After looking through many WLAN Linux guides online I am stumped.

    Any help would be appreciated. Sorry if I left out any pertinent information.

    Thanks.

  5. #65
    Just burned his ISO armellagrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    nice info
    whether the same with BT in vmware???

  6. #66
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Quote Originally Posted by reath View Post
    I figured it out.
    I had to disable the ShrewSoft DNS Proxy Daemon service and so I got a fully working bridged VMware Backtrack with DNS resolution.

    Hi..am facing the same problem..how to disable ShrewSoft DNS Proxy Daemon service ?
    could you plz explain me..

    thanks

  7. #67
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    I am facing a strange issue..i have installed in vmare..and my adapter has configured with NAT..i got dhcp ip so i can ping the gateway but am not able to ping or browse anyother site..plz help me

  8. #68
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    thanks, exactly what ive been looking for

  9. #69
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    i installed bt4 and i used to connect by this cmd
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/networking start
    when this cmd finish they give me this msg
    Code:
     
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    
    wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-21-6B-6A-BA-B8-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
              UP RUNNING  MTU:0  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    
    root@bt:~# /etc/init.d/networking start
    Configuring network interfaces...Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    Listening on LPF/eth0/00:1d:72:fb:84:30
    Sending on   LPF/eth0/00:1d:72:fb:84:30
    Sending on   Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 21
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 21
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    if-up.d/mountnfs[eth0]: waiting for interface eth1 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[eth0]: waiting for interface eth2 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[eth0]: waiting for interface ath0 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[eth0]: waiting for interface wlan0 before doing NFS mounts
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth1.
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth2.
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up ath0.
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    Listening on LPF/wlan0/00:21:6b:6a:ba:b8
    Sending on   LPF/wlan0/00:21:6b:6a:ba:b8
    Sending on   Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 20
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    if-up.d/mountnfs[wlan0]: waiting for interface eth1 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[wlan0]: waiting for interface eth2 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[wlan0]: waiting for interface ath0 before doing NFS mounts
    done.
    please tell me what i should do to fix this problem i have '' ADSL ''

  10. #70
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Quote Originally Posted by amtesh View Post
    I am facing a strange issue..i have installed in vmare..and my adapter has configured with NAT..i got dhcp ip so i can ping the gateway but am not able to ping or browse anyother site..plz help me
    if you are using vmware fusion just do /etc/init.d/networking start

    also you can enable the ethernet card, usually is eth0

    ifconfig eth0 up
    dhcpclient eth0 up

Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 06:45 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •