Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 103

Thread: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

  1. #11
    Junior Member Valkyrie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Quote Originally Posted by sl33p View Post
    alternatively, in an 'old school' way of doing things on a Debian-based system, one could run:

    #ifup eth0 (or whichever interface you wanna start)

    instead of running the startup script "/etc/init.d/networking start" this will load the "/etc/network/interfaces" file as well and take you to the net.

    to bring you down and disable the interface type:

    #ifdown eth0

    rgds,
    sl33p
    hi sleep

    Is it still necessary to set static IP in the /etc/network/interfaces file in the method your using?

    I having trouble basically trying to get any signals in wicd network manager with my Alfa 036h.
    My Alfa 036h uses interfaces wlan0 and mon1, does that mean I need to setup iface in /etc/network/interfaces file for mon1?

    Mines currently looks similar to below
    root@bt:~# cat /etc/network/interfaces
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp

    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp

    address 192.168.0.7
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 192.168.1.1
    broadcast 192.168.0.255
    gateway 192.168.0.1
    Also, Im not sure the static ip details I've entered are correct. Anyone have any tutorials on this?
    Im not sure which details to put here if Im connecting to multiple wep connections for example?I bascially want to be able to go to Wicd, choose the connection and type in the wep key, if possible.
    Im using HDD install of bt4 on vmare.

    EDIT: found this tutorial- after i run through that it will probably answer my question.
    http://www.question-defense.com/2010...h-vmware-tools
    Last edited by Valkyrie; 02-01-2010 at 02:15 PM.

  2. #12
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Tnx I solved it. I just had to modify /etc/network/interfaces

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Getting WLAN to work from command line:

    If somenone knows how to connect wlan via dhcp from cli, please let me know how

    In my case, the wireless nic is on eth1

    ifconfig eth1 down
    ifconfig eth1 10.0.0.4
    ifconfig eth1 netmask 255.255.255.0
    ifconfig default gw 10.0.0.2

    change the dns server address in the /etc/resolv.conf if needed

    iwconfig eth1 key restricted
    iwconfig eth1 key s:[passphrase] (or without the "s:" if inputting HEX key)
    iwconfig eth1 mode Managed
    iwconfig essid MyNetwork
    iwconfig channel 6
    ifconfig eth1 up

    try to ping the default gateway, then Google and it should work.

    For some reason, I cannot get DHCP response with dhclient even from a unprotected hotspot without network-manager or WICD. I'd like to know why

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Very nice! It might be more better if you make a distinction between your expainations and the commonds! I am a new BT4 user! And I would like to study this thread carefully!Thanks a lot!
    Last edited by lupin; 02-10-2010 at 10:23 AM. Reason: Removed giant font

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Solution for me in BackTrack 4:
    root@bt:~# dhclient eth0

    Regards

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    First of all sorry for my poor English.
    I have a problem while connecting to the nework. I read this thread and tried to start the network by editing file "interfaces" and by another method - wicd manager. Nothing works! While trying ping my gateway (or any other PC at my network) I got the answer "Destination Host Unreachable". I have any DHCP servers at my network. ifconfig shows my eth0 interface (it is on realtek chipset). It is up and maybe works.
    Such problem is with Wi-FI card (I tried to use Intel Pro wireless card and card on Atheros chipsets).
    Please help me by advice. What I'm doing wrong?

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Hi !

    I have the same problem with WiFi.

    Wireless PCI Card CNP-WF511 (chip: RTL8185L)

    I read all thread's but have not found an answer, how to configure Wireless.

    I can only connect to internet with eth0.

    When i type :
    iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.
    eth0 no wireless extensions.


    Clicking the Networking Icon in the System Tray, i see only:
    Wired network - with mystical IP adress.
    No wireless networks found

    Someone can help me, please ?
    Last edited by euphoric; 02-10-2010 at 05:36 PM.

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO ethicalhacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Universe
    Posts
    9

    Question Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Hello guys,

    What is the difference between /etc/init.d/networking start and /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start.

    Could you can explain the difference, and functions in that?

  9. #19
    Junior Member Valkyrie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    Quote Originally Posted by ethicalhacker View Post
    Hello guys,

    What is the difference between /etc/init.d/networking start and /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start.

    Could you can explain the difference, and functions in that?
    Wasn't network manager used in the older versions? I was under the impression that wicd replaced the network manager?

  10. #20
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs up Re: How to Start Networking in Backtrack

    The information worked well. Thanks

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 06:45 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •