Thread: Ettercap Securty Certificate

Just burned his ISO

Default Ettercap Securty Certificate

Hi, I'm new to linux and penetration testing technologies / methods, etc

So far I have set up an Apache server, cracked my own WEP and WPA networks, and sniffed SSL traffic using ettercap...which brings me onto my question.

Before posting this I have searched these forums and the internet to no avail.

When using ettercap modern browsers display a security warning regarding the certificate (which is a good thing). As I understand it ettercap substitutes the genuine certificate for its certificate, this is built from the information contained on the genuine certificate but does not change the issuer which triggers the warning.

Within the ettercap directory there is 'etter.ssl.crt' which I am presuming is the template ettercap uses to create the fake certificate.

Within this post > hxxp://forums.remote-exploit.org/pentesting/24713-what-least-noisy-mitm-attack-take-control-box.html#post142968

It is mentioned that it is possible to "deploy a root cert out to my XP machines in the domain so that I can ettercap them at will without getting the giant "OMG IZ BAD!" alerts, but what happens after that can be more problematic."

Questions:
    1.Where can I find information explaining how I can create a 'root cert' for use with ettercap;

2.Would I need to create a single root cert for ettercap or a cert for each SSL site I wish to sniff without the warnings (i.e. hotmail, googlemail, etc, etc)

In the long term I plan to have a go at Evilgrade > Metasploit to remotely install the cert onto the target machine, however I feel there-in lies a steep learning curve

Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar

Considering I was the one who said it, I'm quite pleased to see you following up.