Thread: Installing compiz-fusion and Emerald - ATI Radeon Mobility X700

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Default Installing compiz-fusion and Emerald - ATI Radeon Mobility X700

Hey all,

As the subject states, I have an ATI Radeon Mobility X700 video card, and I'd really like to get Compiz and Emerald going on it.

I've learned that this card IS supported, but that's about it! I'm new with Linux in general, so please bear with me.

I've successfully installed Compiz-Fusion and (I think) Emerald, and I have a "Compiz Fusion Icon" listing in my main menu, however nothing seems to happen when I click it. I'm not sure if Emerald successfully installed because I don't see it in the main menu anywhere.

So I used 'compiz --replace' in the terminal, and this was the output:

Code:
    compiz --replace
    Checking for Xgl: not present.
    Found laptop using radeon driver.
    aborting and using fallback: /opt/kde3/bin/kwin
    What's the next step from here? There doesn't seem to be a lot of documentation on installing Emerald or Compiz Fusion for this card specifically. Any thoughts?

Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by innervision View Post
    Hey all,
    As the subject states, I have an ATI Radeon Mobility X700 video card, and I'd really like to get Compiz and Emerald going on it.
    I've learned that this card IS supported, but that's about it! I'm new with Linux in general, so please bear with me.
    I've successfully installed Compiz-Fusion and (I think) Emerald, and I have a "Compiz Fusion Icon" listing in my main menu, however nothing seems to happen when I click it. I'm not sure if Emerald successfully installed because I don't see it in the main menu anywhere.
    So I used 'compiz --replace' in the terminal, and this was the output:
    Code:
    compiz --replace
    Checking for Xgl: not present.
    Found laptop using radeon driver.
    aborting and using fallback: /opt/kde3/bin/kwin