Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: installing Backtrack 4 help

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default installing Backtrack 4 help

    Hi,

    I cant install bt4 on my new samsung. I already tried it with ubiquity. But i keeps throwing an error :
    Code:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/ubiquity/+bug/404227
    . When im trying it with the comandline im getting this error:
    Code:
    root@bt:~# fdisk /dev/sda
    
    The number of cylinders for this disk is set to 60801.
    There is nothing wrong with that, but this is larger than 1024,
    and could in certain setups cause problems with:
    1) software that runs at boot time (e.g., old versions of LILO)
    2) booting and partitioning software from other OSs
       (e.g., DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)
    
    Command (m for help): n
    Command action
       l   logical (5 or over)
       p   primary partition (1-4)
    p
    Partition number (1-4): 1
    Partition 1 is already defined.  Delete it before re-adding it.
    
    Command (m for help): n
    Command action
       l   logical (5 or over)
       p   primary partition (1-4)
    p
    Partition number (1-4): 2
    Partition 2 is already defined.  Delete it before re-adding it.
    
    Command (m for help): n
    Command action
       l   logical (5 or over)
       p   primary partition (1-4)
    p
    Partition number (1-4): 3
    No free sectors available
    First I had windows 7 on my comp. But it crashed, when i tried to install bt the first time - lol i didnt read the whole tutorial first.
    Now I only can boot with backtrack on CD.

    Can you please help me?

    I realy need help because i have to finsh a program until tuesday!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    52

    Default

    first... LOOSE THE POOR FORMATTING OF YOUR POST! can we get a sticky about how to format your post for best effect?

    Second, it looks like you have already setup partitions and the installs did not go well. That is why you cannot boot into anything other than your live-disk.

    [edit]
    forgot to say that you should wipe out your partition table and repartition your hdd. Then go and try to reinstall.
    [/edit]

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I setup vista again - only with sda1 and it still doesnt work...

  4. #4
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    Read the man page of fdisk to understand what its doing. You are trying to create partitions where they already exist. You need to delete the existing partitions first if you want to follow the BackTrack guide exactly, or otherwise you need to partition your disk differently - say by leaving the exisiting partitions there and adding new ones for BackTrack.

    You may want to use a different tool to do your partitioning if you have difficulty with fdisk (which isnt really for beginners or people who dont understand how partitioning works). Grab Knoppix or some other Linux Rescue Disk style live cd and try using GParted instead, which is a GUI partitioning tool.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7

    Exclamation kernel panic!!!

    I solved this now with fdisk and then copyed all data to sda1, 2 and 3>
    Code:
    https://security-shell.ws/showpost.php?p=45195&postcount=1
    Now I still cant startup, because this error appears (in that first comandline where you type in the username and pass ) when i start

    Code:
    pci 0000:01:00.0: Bar 6: can't allocate mem resource [0xe0000000-0xdfffffff]
    Kernel panic - not syncing: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel.
    The firtst line is normal but the second (in red) is the error.
    Please help me!

    Code:
    https://security-shell.ws/showpost.php?p=78093&postcount=16

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I installed bt now successfully. But now, when Im starting my computer a error is thrown > CODE]pci 0000:01:00.0: Bar 6: can't allocate mem resource [0xe0000000-0xdfffffff]
    Kernel panic - not syncing: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel.[/CODE] The first line is normal. Then the secondline appears and nothing happes... I have to reboot with a bootcd.


    ADMINS: I maybe made such a post already but it somehow does not appear...

  7. #7
    Member Nagual's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    289

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by intos View Post
    I installed bt now successfully. But now, when Im starting my computer a error is thrown > CODE]pci 0000:01:00.0: Bar 6: can't allocate mem resource [0xe0000000-0xdfffffff]
    Kernel panic - not syncing: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel.[/CODE] The first line is normal. Then the secondline appears and nothing happes... I have to reboot with a bootcd.


    ADMINS: I maybe made such a post already but it somehow does not appear...
    all your post must be approved ...

    did you check the md5 sum, maybe your iso file is corrupted, maybe your livecd suxx, burn it at lowest speed .... i don't know if you have the first screen with all differents start mode if so have you ever try the cheet code, no acpi, etc...
    you installed it mean that you ran the livecd without any errors ? did you test it (i mean play with tools) before the installation.

    I remember that i had a similar issue once. Md5 was correct, dvd boot perfectly, installation OK and then lot of errors when i reboot. The dvd burning was corrupted.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Yes I did. I tryed it with a newer version and ran that ubiquity installer. Its trying to install it up to 28%. But then it keeps throwing this error:
    Code:
    The installer encountered an error copying files to the harddisk:
    
    [Error 5] input/output error
    
    This is often due to a faulty CD/DVD disk or drive, a a faulty hardisk.
    It may help to clean the CD/DVD, to burn the CD/DVD at a lower speed, 
    to clean the CD/DVD drive lens (cleaning kits are often available from
    electronics suppliers), to check whether the har disk is old and in need of an
    replacement, or the move th system to a cooler enviroment
    I made a
    memorytest already - No errors, My comp and the harddisk are new. What
    should I do?
    Please help me!

  9. #9
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by intos View Post
    Yes I did. I tryed it with a newer version and ran that ubiquity installer. Its trying to install it up to 28%. But then it keeps throwing this error:
    Code:
    The installer encountered an error copying files to the harddisk:
    
    [Error 5] input/output error
    
    This is often due to a faulty CD/DVD disk or drive, a a faulty hardisk.
    It may help to clean the CD/DVD, to burn the CD/DVD at a lower speed, 
    to clean the CD/DVD drive lens (cleaning kits are often available from
    electronics suppliers), to check whether the har disk is old and in need of an
    replacement, or the move th system to a cooler enviroment
    I made a
    memorytest already - No errors, My comp and the harddisk are new. What
    should I do?
    Please help me!
    Honestly? Download and try Ubuntu. If you can't even get the install to work, BackTrack really isn't a good idea.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •