Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: ElitestFX BackTrack 4 Pre Final Install Documentation

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    44

    Default ElitestFX BackTrack 4 Pre Final Install Documentation

    I just finished another semester at school and had a nice Christmas. I decided it was time for my Acer to be RIS'd. I just finished installing Windows XP, and now my BT4 is also up and running.

    Code:
    /dev/sda1 Recovery Partition
    /dev/sda2 Windows XP *Bootable
    /dev/sda5 NTFS Partition
    /dev/sda6 Linux Ext2 /boot
    /dev/sda7 Linux Swap
    /dev/sda8 Linux ReiserFS /
    Now, the first thing I will do is update the kernel.

    Code:
    apt-get update
    apt-get install -d linux-image
    cd /var/cache/apt/archives/
    dpkg -i --force-all linux-image-2.6.30.9_2.6.30.9-10.00.Custom_i386.deb
    apt-get dist-upgrade
    dpkg -i --force-all libssh2_1.2.2-bt0_all.deb
    dpkg -i --force-all samdump2_2.0.1-bt0_i386.deb
    make-ssl-cert generate-default-snakeoil --force-overwrite
    apt-get dist-upgrade
    Before I reboot, I will create a backup of /boot/grub/menu.lst file.

    Code:
    cd /boot/grub
    cp menu.lst menu.lst.bak
    reboot
    I will modify the vga mode and splashimage. I will also remove the older kernel entries. This is a copy of my working /boot/grub/menu.lst file.

    Code:
    # menu.lst - See: grub(8), info grub, update-grub(8)
    #            grub-install(8), grub-floppy(8),
    #            grub-md5-crypt, /usr/share/doc/grub
    #            and /usr/share/doc/grub-doc/.
    
    ## default num
    # Set the default entry to the entry number NUM. Numbering starts from 0, and
    # the entry number 0 is the default if the command is not used.
    #
    # You can specify 'saved' instead of a number. In this case, the default entry
    # is the entry saved with the command 'savedefault'.
    # WARNING: If you are using dmraid do not use 'savedefault' or your
    # array will desync and will not let you boot your system.
    default         4
    
    ## timeout sec
    # Set a timeout, in SEC seconds, before automatically booting the default entry
    # (normally the first entry defined).
    timeout         3
    
    ## hiddenmenu
    # Hides the menu by default (press ESC to see the menu)
    #hiddenmenu
    
    # Pretty colours
    #color cyan/blue white/blue
    
    ## password ['--md5'] passwd
    # If used in the first section of a menu file, disable all interactive editing
    # control (menu entry editor and command-line)  and entries protected by the
    # command 'lock'
    # e.g. password topsecret
    #      password --md5 $1$gLhU0/$aW78kHK1QfV3P2b2znUoe/
    # password topsecret
    
    #
    # examples
    #
    # title         Windows 95/98/NT/2000
    # root          (hd0,0)
    # makeactive
    # chainloader   +1
    #
    # title         Linux
    # root          (hd0,1)
    # kernel        /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda2 ro
    #
    
    #
    # Put static boot stanzas before and/or after AUTOMAGIC KERNEL LIST
    
    ### BEGIN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST
    ## lines between the AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST markers will be modified
    ## by the debian update-grub script except for the default options below
    
    ## DO NOT UNCOMMENT THEM, Just edit them to your needs
    
    ## ## Start Default Options ##
    ## default kernel options
    ## default kernel options for automagic boot options
    ## If you want special options for specific kernels use kopt_x_y_z
    ## where x.y.z is kernel version. Minor versions can be omitted.
    ## e.g. kopt=root=/dev/hda1 ro
    ##      kopt_2_6_8=root=/dev/hdc1 ro
    ##      kopt_2_6_8_2_686=root=/dev/hdc2 ro
    # kopt=root=UUID=a756cd1e-8c04-4d48-975c-93bf4701d09b ro
    
    ## default grub root device
    ## e.g. groot=(hd0,0)
    # groot=11a08b91-4803-4a1c-98c3-ba0e61d07a59
    
    ## should update-grub create alternative automagic boot options
    ## e.g. alternative=true
    ##      alternative=false
    # alternative=true
    
    ## should update-grub lock alternative automagic boot options
    ## e.g. lockalternative=true
    ##      lockalternative=false
    # lockalternative=false
    
    ## additional options to use with the default boot option, but not with the
    ## alternatives
    ## e.g. defoptions=vga=0x317 resume=/dev/hda5
    # defoptions=vga=0x317
    
    ## should update-grub lock old automagic boot options
    ## e.g. lockold=false
    ##      lockold=true
    # lockold=false
    
    ## Xen hypervisor options to use with the default Xen boot option
    # xenhopt=
    
    ## Xen Linux kernel options to use with the default Xen boot option
    # xenkopt=console=tty0
    
    ## altoption boot targets option
    ## multiple altoptions lines are allowed
    ## e.g. altoptions=(extra menu suffix) extra boot options
    ##      altoptions=(recovery) single
    # altoptions=(recovery mode) single
    
    ## controls how many kernels should be put into the menu.lst
    ## only counts the first occurence of a kernel, not the
    ## alternative kernel options
    ## e.g. howmany=all
    ##      howmany=7
    # howmany=all
    
    ## should update-grub create memtest86 boot option
    ## e.g. memtest86=true
    ##      memtest86=false
    # memtest86=true
    
    ## should update-grub adjust the value of the default booted system
    ## can be true or false
    # updatedefaultentry=false
    
    ## should update-grub add savedefault to the default options
    ## can be true or false
    # savedefault=false
    
    ## ## End Default Options ##
    
    splashimage=(hd0,5)/grub/bt4.xpm.gz
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.10, kernel 2.6.30.9
    uuid            11a08b91-4803-4a1c-98c3-ba0e61d07a59
    kernel          /vmlinuz-2.6.30.9 root=UUID=a756cd1e-8c04-4d48-975c-93bf4701d09b ro vga=0x312
    initrd          /initrd.img-2.6.30.9
    quiet
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.10, kernel 2.6.30.9 (recovery mode)
    uuid            11a08b91-4803-4a1c-98c3-ba0e61d07a59
    kernel          /vmlinuz-2.6.30.9 root=UUID=a756cd1e-8c04-4d48-975c-93bf4701d09b ro  single
    initrd          /initrd.img-2.6.30.9
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.10, memtest86+
    uuid            11a08b91-4803-4a1c-98c3-ba0e61d07a59
    kernel          /memtest86+.bin
    quiet
    
    ### END DEBIAN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST
    
    # This is a divider, added to separate the menu items below from the Debian
    # ones.
    title           Other operating systems:
    root
    
    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
    # on /dev/sda2
    title           Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    root            (hd0,1)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader     +1
    I will remove the files from the previous kernel.

    Code:
    cd /boot
    rm *.29.4
    Fix the Dragon Icon for non-root user.

    Code:
    unzip -o /root/.kde3/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/kmenu-dragon.zip -d /home/*/.kde3/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/
    unzip -o /root/.kde3/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/kmenu-dragon.zip -d /etc/skel/.kde3/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/
    mkdir /opt/kde3/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/
    unzip -o /root/.kde3/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/kmenu-dragon.zip -d /opt/kde3/share/icons/nuvoX_0.7/
    Install Compiz

    Code:
    apt-get install compiz compiz-fusion-plugins-extra compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported simple-ccsm fusion-icon
    Install Ruby on Rails

    It looks like Ruby is already installed and it is the version I wanted to use.

    Code:
    ruby -v
    ruby 1.8.7 (2008-08-11 patchlevel 72) [i486-linux]
    Next, we'll check for RubyGems.

    Code:
    gem -v
    1.2.0
    I will upgrade to the latest RubyGems.
    Code:
    cd ~
    wget http://rubyforge.org/frs/download.php/60718/rubygems-1.3.5.tgz
    tar -zxvf rubygems-1.3.5.tgz
    cd rubygems-1.3.5
    ruby setup.rb
    RubyGems is now installed to /usr/bin/gem. *Note: /usr/bin/gem is a symbolic link to /etc/alternatives/gem which also a symbolic link to the /usr/bin/gem1.8 binary.

    Code:
    gem -v
    1.3.5
    Updating RubyGems

    Code:
    gem update --system
    Updating RubyGems
    Nothing to update
    Installing Rails

    Code:
    gem install rails
    Code:
    rails -v
    Rails 2.3.5
    Installing MySQL for Ruby

    Code:
    apt-get install mysql-server mysql-client libmysql-ruby libmysqlclient-dev
    gem install mysql
    *Note: Rails finds the default MySQL socket file in the /tmp/mysqld.sock path. In Debian, change the railsapp/config/database.yml file to reflect the real /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock path.

    Code:
    socket: '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock'
    Reset MySQL Password (More secure than --skip-grant-tables method.)

    First, kill the server.

    Code:
    kill `cat /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.pid`
    Create a file called ~/mysql-passwd and insert the following. *Must be two lines.

    Code:
    UPDATE mysql.user SET Password=PASSWORD('newpassword') WHERE User='root';
    FLUSH PRIVILEGES;
    The following will reset the root MySQL password.

    Code:
    mysqld_safe --user=mysql --init-file=~/mysql-passwd &
    'KDE Menu > Services > Mysql' has bad commands. Fixed the start and stop...

    Code:
    sh -c "/etc/init.d/mysql start"
    sh -c "/etc/init.d/mysql stop"
    SQL Code to create a database named 'projectRails_development'.

    Code:
    CREATE DATABASE `projectRails_development` ;
    Installing phpMyAdmin

    Code:
    apt-get install phpmyadmin
    *Note: It will install to the /usr/share/phpmyadmin path and create /etc/apache2/conf.d/phpmyadmin.conf which is a symbolic link to the /etc/phpmyadmin/apache.conf file.

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ElitestFX View Post
    Before I reboot, I will create a backup of /boot/grub/menu.1st file.

    Code:
    cd /boot/grub
    cp menu.1st menu.1st.bak
    reboot
    I will modify the vga mode and splashimage. I will also remove the older kernel entries. This is a copy of my working /boot/grub/menu.1st file.
    Shouldn't it be menu.lst? (1 -> l)

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Snayler View Post
    Shouldn't it be menu.lst? (1 -> l)
    You're right. Thanks for pointing that out. I've always used the tab completion and I was writing this with another computer so I couldn't copy and paste.

    Due to the 10,000 character limit per post, I will continue here.

    Fix the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file to support dual extended screens. The following is a working copy of the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file. The only change is located in the line that contains "Virtual 1600 1600" in the Screen section.

    Code:
    # xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # Note that some configuration settings that could be done previously
    # in this file, now are automatically configured by the server and settings
    # here are ignored.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    #   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier      "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier      "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier      "Default Screen"
            Monitor         "Configured Monitor"
            Device          "Configured Video Device"
            Virtual         1600 1600
    EndSection
    Create a file called ~/dual_display and insert the following. This script will extend my screen to an external monitor.

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    # Quick fix to extend the desktop to an external monitor
    
    xrandr --output LVDS --mode 640x480 --rate 59.9
    xrandr --output VGA --mode 800x600 --rate 60
    xrandr --output LVDS --left-of VGA
    xrandr -q
    
    echo "[*] Extended Netbook Display"
    Create a file called ~/reset_display and insert the following. This script will turn off my extended screen setup and set my default resolution.

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    # Quick fix to reset the display for the desktop and external monitor
    
    xrandr --output LVDS --mode 1024x600 --rate 60
    xrandr --output VGA --mode 640x480 --rate 59.9
    xrandr --output VGA --off
    xrandr -q
    
    echo "[*] Netbook Display Reset"

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ElitestFX View Post
    Code:
    apt-get install mysql-server mysql-client libmysql-ruby libmysqlclient-dev
    gem install mysql
    *Note: Rails finds the default MySQL socket file in the /tmp/mysqld.sock path. In Debian, change the railsapp/config/database.yml file to reflect the real /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock path.
    Sorry for my ignorance here, but did you actually have a "railsapp/config/database.yml" file, or is that something you do when creating a rails app that needs mysql?

    I do have ruby apps with database.yml files:

    /opt/metasploit3/msf3/data/msfweb/config/database.yml
    /pentest/voip/warvox/web/config/database.yml
    /pentest/voip/warvox/web/vendor/plugins/will_paginate/test/database.yml
    /pentest/misc/dradis/server/config/database.yml
    /pentest/misc/dradis/server/vendor/plugins/acts_as_tree/test/database.yml

    Are you saying we need to modify each database.yml, adding the socket: line? Looking at the metasploit one and warvox one, I see no present "socket" line, and thought I better check before changing all these.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    455

    Default

    Hi there !
    Thanks for the howto...
    Just a question though : what's the purpose of creating a boot partition in the middle of the disk ? Well, a boot partition can become very usefull, but in the middle and for BT...

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ~LCF~ View Post
    Hi there !
    Thanks for the howto...
    Just a question though : what's the purpose of creating a boot partition in the middle of the disk ? Well, a boot partition can become very usefull, but in the middle and for BT...
    I believe the purpose was so grub would play nicely with his Windows XP install. I have an Asus 1008ha with Win7, ubuntu 9.10 and backtrack and from my experience it is best to install Windows before any others and then just do a chainload from grub to boot into the windows.

    Although I suppose you could always place your windows after but I would venture to say he had windows installed before the others.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy hhhheeeeeelllllpppppp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hi masters
    I`m an Iranian user of BT4

    I followed the installation guide step by step , but stopped in the same line of our friend witch they had problem:

    cd --preserved -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,boot,etc,lib,opt,sb in,var} /mnt/bt/

    Our friends had typed the command line incorrect and encountered those problems

    But I am sure that I have typed the exact command line in my Vmware7 virtual machine

    but I encountered the not enough free space error or permission error

    I am disappointed



    Can any one here help me????

    in command line I`ve typed "sbin" without space and in my comment wrote the same thing,but here in the forum it seem to have a space that is incorrect

    I have wrote the command line without any extra spaces and exactly like the guide line


    plz help me

    I have faced this error message:

    cp: preserving permissions for `/bt/dev/hdc` : Operation not supported

    hhhheeeeeeeelllllllllllllllllppppp me!!!!!!!!!

  8. #8
    Very good friend of the forum drgr33n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dark side of the moon ...
    Posts
    699

    Default

    @ hm8212000 just use the installer

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for your reply

    I have used the installer but it did not install bt4 on my hard drive
    when it goes to install , after copping some file (about 23%) it shows a dialog box that setup cant continue ( or something like this )


    I have used both hda and sda for my Vmware hard drive but it does not answer



    know what to do??

  10. #10
    Very good friend of the forum drgr33n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dark side of the moon ...
    Posts
    699

    Default

    How big is the hdd on the virtual machine you setup ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •