Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Bad hostname error at boot

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Bad hostname error at boot

    I installed BT4 on my system. A few days later, I changed the hostname of the machine using the hostname command. The X server now has trouble when I launch startx, saying something about "bad hostname in the list command". Can someone shed some light on how to resolve this? Most of the time, X is able to start, but occasionally I just get a grey screen and have to ctl-alt-backspace out and restart the X server. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: Bad hostname error at boot

    Simply changing it back would seem to be the quickest and easiest solution.

    Practicing some google'fu on the actual error message(s) would likely help you as well.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 01:05 PM
  2. Boot Error (Can Start but not Boot)
    By AtHacks in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-20-2010, 10:35 AM
  3. Live USB boot error
    By 3rr0r404 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-27-2010, 12:14 AM
  4. Bt- 4 serieas problem error error
    By lenien in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-18-2010, 06:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •