Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: VMWare question

  1. #1
    Senior Member SephStorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    166

    Default VMWare question

    How do I mount a physical disk in VMWare Workstation? I have looked on google, but most of the results seem to be related to mounting virtual disks outside of vmware.

    Just a note, the guest os is running on the disk that needs to be mounted. I need to access other files on the drive.
    "You're only smoke and mirrors..."

  2. #2
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    You can't mount it like another harddrive unless it is an USB disk.

    Else you have to share it and mount it as a network device.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #3
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    I think there was an advanced mounting option in VmWare Server 1.x that allowed mounting a physical drive, but I dont know if that was ever in VMWare Workstation or even if it made it into the VMWare Server 2.x branch. If you can find what they called that feature in Server 1.x it might give you some more search terms to try...

    Id be interested to know if you find out this is possible...
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Crystal Wind
    Posts
    851

    Default

    I just did an edit to one of my virtual machines that had me grabbing the system root disk as another physical disk in the virtual (Edit it, add a disk, choose physical).

    The only thing I am not sure of is whether or not you could do it to the same disk, as VMWare likes to write config information to the disk, you might end up in a strange looping situation.
    Still not underestimating the power...

    There is no such thing as bad information - There is truth in the data, so you sift it all, even the crap stuff.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lupin View Post
    or even if it made it into the VMWare Server 2.x branch.
    Yes you can access disks outside of the image with server 2.X

    Quote Originally Posted by Gitsnik View Post
    VMWare likes to write config information to the disk, you might end up in a strange looping situation.
    In server at least this will not happen.
    I think workstation operates the same way. You can choose to right to the disk instantly or at a later time.


    @ OP there are other ways to access a disk, it can be done with smb for instance.
    ftp will also allow access.
    Might not be the best/ most secure but it can be done.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  6. #6
    Senior Member SephStorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KMDave View Post
    You can't mount it like another harddrive unless it is an USB disk.

    Else you have to share it and mount it as a network device.
    Well it is a USB mounted drive, does that change anything? I am thinking I can move the VM to my primary had disk, and see it I can get the host os to mount the second drive while in the OS environment.

    EDIT: yes, this indeed work.
    "You're only smoke and mirrors..."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •