Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Screen Resolution

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Screen Resolution

    Hey, I'm a complete newbie to Linux really and only ever used Ubuntu 8.something before. But that had a GUI option of how change your screen resolution (Windows Fag!) I've manage to get Backtrack4 installed on a physical machine, I was just wondering how to change the screen resolution to say 1280x800?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Myrax View Post
    Hey, I'm a complete newbie to Linux really and only ever used Ubuntu 8.something before. But that had a GUI option of how change your screen resolution (Windows Fag!) I've manage to get Backtrack4 installed on a physical machine, I was just wondering how to change the screen resolution to say 1280x800?

    Thanks
    This command sometimes works for changing the resolution as long as X supports the resolution you are trying to change to.

    Code:
    xrandr -s 1280×800
    You can also optionally add a refresh rate to the end of that command using @60 (for 60 Hz refresh).

    If it doesn't work you may need to edit your X configuration file (xorg.conf) and/or possibly change your video driver.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lupin View Post
    This command sometimes works for changing the resolution as long as X supports the resolution you are trying to change to.

    Code:
    xrandr -s 1280×800
    You can also optionally add a refresh rate to the end of that command using @60 (for 60 Hz refresh).

    If it doesn't work you may need to edit your X configuration file (xorg.conf) and/or possibly change your video driver.
    When I type that, it looks fine, until I open a new window of something, then they text of the new windows is bigger then the text on old windows. How do I fix that?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shnap View Post
    When I type that, it looks fine, until I open a new window of something, then they text of the new windows is bigger then the text on old windows. How do I fix that?
    Is that a problem?

    Anyway, I've never had that happen to me. You may want to run the command immediately after starting X on the system, before opening any other windows. Then all the windows should have similar sized text.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    31

    Default



    I'm using it in vmware, might that be the problem? I tired using the command first thing and it doesn't fix the problem.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO mcjon3z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I had the same issue in VMWare and figured that the size differential was based upon the change from the initial monitor resolution that is set in the display setup to the active resolution. The VMWare image that I was using was set to use the Plug & Play monitor, which initially defaulted to the 1024x768 resolution. Upon resize to a larger resolution to fit the screen, everything else was enlarged accordingly.

    To correct, I changed the monitor (tray icon, hardware tab...sorry, linux noob) to a generic monitor with a screen size that was comparable to my physical machine (I have a laptop with a 1920x1200 screen so I set it to 1920x1080) and the resize had a minimal effect when fitting the screen (refit size was 1677x999). Looks much nicer!

    Restart x after you change the monitor...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •