Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How to enable wired internet?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default How to enable wired internet?

    i got the bt4 pre release but i cant use internet directly connected. how can i enable so it see's it and i can use bt4 as my os. This linux doesnt have my stuff on it



    thank you very much

  2. #2
    Senior Member orange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Just type
    Code:
    # /etc/init.d/networking start

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    Here's how you get a list of the network cards in your system:

    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    Your wired Ethernet connection is most probably something like "eth0" or "eth1". You can turn the network card on as follows:

    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    To get an internet connection going, try this:

    Linux Internet Connection - Virjacode
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Code:
     /etc/init.d/networking start
    if that code doesnt work for you try

    Code:
    start-network
    i got bt4 on a vmimage and the 1st command work for me but when i try to boot from live the 1st command doesnt work but the second solve my issue

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    can somone tell me please how can i connect my rooter on back track 4.
    thanks

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by seknano View Post
    can somone tell me please how can i connect my rooter on back track 4.
    thanks
    That question could mean 6489272397 different things, so I'm not gonna say anything. I'll just leave you with this tutorial and hope for the best:

    Linux Internet Connection - Virjacode
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    well try to download and install Wicd network manager. it all depends if you are running as root user or logged in as a user. if your logged in as a user use these commands that you where giving with a sudo in front of them. or better yet type in sudo -i and put in commands from there. but Wicd will do the trick for u for a graphical user interface. from my 2 day noobish experience this is the information i obtained.

    google wicd.

  8. #8
    Senior Member orange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vladi View Post
    well try to download and install Wicd network manager. it all depends if you are running as root user or logged in as a user. if your logged in as a user use these commands that you where giving with a sudo in front of them. or better yet type in sudo -i and put in commands from there. but Wicd will do the trick for u for a graphical user interface. from my 2 day noobish experience this is the information i obtained.

    google wicd.
    wicd is already part of the distribution, thus there's no need to install it. Just do (...) before starting the XServer. The first command takes care that wicd gets autostarted on subsequent boots
    Code:
    # update-rc.d wicd defaults
    # /etc/init.d/wicd start

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Maybe this will help
    Type

    ifconfig eth0

    you should endup with something like

    root@xyz:~# ifconfig eth0
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1c:fc:0b:7f:1f
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:18 Base address:0x2c00

    if you do then type

    ifconfig eth0 up

    followed by

    dhclient eth0

    you should end up with something like

    root@xyz:~# ifconfig eth0 up
    root@xyz:~# dhclient eth0
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit
    wmaster1: unknown hardware address type 801
    wmaster0: unknown hardware address type 801
    wmaster1: unknown hardware address type 801
    wmaster0: unknown hardware address type 801
    Listening on LPF/eth0/00:1c:fc:0b:7f:1f
    Sending on LPF/eth0/00:1c:fc:0b:7f:1f
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
    DHCPOFFER of 192.168.1.214 from 192.168.1.1
    DHCPREQUEST of 192.168.1.1 on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
    DHCPACK of 192.168.1.1 from 192.168.1.1
    bound to 192.165.35.214 -- renewal in 1737 seconds.

    If you see this you should be good to go

    Kindly let me know if this helps.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •