Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Basics

Just burned his ISO

Question The Basics

Hi,
    I have just started to get in to network security and am having a good time with it (I like brain teasers and tech)
    I have started a project and could use some guidance It goes as follows:
    3 old PC's on a privite network (no Internet) connected by a wireless/wired router
    the fist PC is Ubuntu (wireless)
    the second XP Pro (wired)
    the third Vista Home Pre (wireless)

XP and vista are using Name brand antivirus and firewall and are password protected (easy dictionay + one number passwords)

For the wireless securiety I am starting with WEP

Now Using back track (running off the cd) I cracked the WEP key and gained accesses to the net work. The Next thing I want to check is how hard it is to crack the OS passwords and router Password and this is were I am Stuck I am not sure how to go about this.
    I am a Noob with linux(i use Ubuntu but nothing "hard core") and network security.
    Up until just recently I was primarily a windows user (multimedia and gaming)

Any suggestions would be great or even if their is a good tutorial on the net some were I could read like a 101 or something because even when I cracked the wep is more of a monkey see monkey do experience. Then going back and finding out why it was done like that and what each command is for and how to use them properly

What I hope to accomplish : Making my network more secure , Knowledge , and FUN

Thanks

For your router, try researching a program called Hydra. In fact I think there is a recently posted How-To video on this...correct me if im getting videos mixed up...

For your computers, think more exploiting and then downloading the SAM/LM hashes and getting the passwords that way. (look up Metasploit)

Just burned his ISO

Thanks for the info will most defo look into those two

Quote Originally Posted by masteroc View Post