Thread: help, bt3 & alfa card, kismet error FATAL: Illegal card source line?

Just burned his ISO

Unhappy help, bt3 & alfa card, kismet error FATAL: Illegal card source line?

Ok as some of you may have read in the other thread I just posted, after booting bt3 from usb drive, I was unable to use the 'startx' to start the gui, therefor it left me at the command prompt, so im not sure if this is one of the reasons for my below problem.

I am new to linux and just starting to pen test my home wifi network. I was trying to follow along from the segment in a recent Hak5 episode from revision3.com. The hak5 episode was #518. They were using a "Alfa AWUS036H" WiFi Card to Pen Test a WiFi network with WPA. Well I order that exact "Alfa AWUS036H" card and that is what I am trying to use while having this problem here.

In the episode they say type "airmon-ng start wlan0" to start the card or something. Now im not sure if this matters, but in the episode when they type that, there screen looks like this:

Interface Chipset Driver
    wifi0 Atheros madwifi-ng
    wlan0 RTL8187 r8187 (monitor mode enabled)

However, on my screen, when I type that same command, mine looks like this:

Interface Chipset Driver
    wlan0 RTL8187 r8187 (monitor mode enabled)

Mine is missing 1 item. Anyways on we go.

Next they say type "kismet -c RT8180.wlan0.ALFA" to start kismet. Well on the episode, kismet starts right up for them, but on my screen it just says:
    "FATAL: Illegal card source line 'RT8180.wlan0.ALFA'"

And if I try to run kismet by just typing "kismet", it says:
    "FATAL: Please configure at least one packet source".

Can anyone take a second to explain to me what im doing wrong here? Could it have something todo with my other problem that I also posted another thread about where I cant start the gui using 'startx' and maybe that gui is needed to see my alfa wifi card? I have my alfa wifi card usb plugged into the laptop the whole time, even before I turn on the computer.