Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 57

Thread: BT4-PreFinal Manual Install -Dual Boot

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    101

    Default BT4-PreFinal Manual Install -Dual Boot

    What's up with that GUI installer that we have now? I don't know about you, but I'm not a fan of it. I haven't even tried it yet! The manual install as always stills the same, but this time we have to take into account that LILO is no longer our default bootloader.

    Disclaimer: I only tried this on VMware, but It should work on any real installation. I assume that you have prior manual install experience (BT3...).

    BT4 PreFinal Manual Installation

    :: HDD Partitioning

    P.S refer to this link for detailed HDD partitioning w/ fdisk http://www.offensive-security.com/do...bt4install.pdf

    +64M merely means 64 MB which is more that enough to hold the GRUB folder along with the kernel. It is a good practice to install the boot manager in a separate partition from the root partition.
    Code:
    /dev/sda1	+64M	 	Partition Boot Sector
    In case you run out of physical memory, swap space will kick in. A rule of thumb is: double your memory size if you have low memory (e.i 1GB), same size if you have high memory (e.i 4Gb). It is all about personal taste!
    Code:
    /dev/sda2	Varies		Swap
    
    /dev/sda3	Varies		/
    /dev/sda4	Varies		Windows
    :: Formatting Drives
    Code:
    root@bt:~# mke2fs /dev/sda1
    root@bt:~# mkswap /dev/sda2
    root@bt:~# swapon /dev/sda2
    root@bt:~# mkreiserfs /dev/sda3
    :: Manually Install
    Code:
    root@bt:~# mkdir /mnt/bt4
    root@bt:~# mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/bt4/
    root@bt:~# mkdir /mnt/bt4/boot
    root@bt:~# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/bt4/boot
    root@bt:~# cp --preserve -R /{bin,home,pentest,root,usr,boot,etc,lib,opt,sbin,var} /mnt/bt4/
    root@bt:~# mkdir /mnt/bt4/{dev,mnt,tmp,proc,sys}
    root@bt:~# mount -t proc proc /mnt/bt4/proc/
    root@bt:~# mount -o bind /dev /mnt/bt4/dev/
    :: Bootsplash Support
    Code:
    root@bt:~# cd /media/cdrom0/boot
    root@bt:~# cp --preserve -R {bootsplash,vmlinuz,initrd.gz} /mnt/bt4/boot/
    
    root@bt:~# chroot /mnt/bt4/ /bin/bash
    :: Editting GRUB /boot/grub/menu.lst
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Code:
    root@bt:~# nano /boot/grub/menu.lst
    
    timeout 5 #The number of seconds GRUB should wait before booting an OS
    default 0 #The entry which should be booted by default
    fallback 1 #The entry which should be booted in the event of the first one failing
    
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/bt4.xpm.gz
    
    # This is an example of using a separate partition for /boot
    title              BT4 PreFinal
    root              (hd0,0)				# Boot Partition
    kernel            /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda3 rw vga=0x317	
    initrd            /initrd.gz
    
    
    title              Microsoft Windows XP Home 	
    root             (hd0,3)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    :: Installing GRUB (When /boot resides in its own partition)
    Code:
    root@bt:~# grub
    grub> find /grub/stage1			
        (hd0,0)
    grub> root (hd0,0)
    grub> setup (hd0)
    grub> quit
    Note: The "root" line must point to the location of your /boot/ partition if you have one. If you do not have one, point it at your / partition.
    QuadCore AMD Phenon X4 9950, 2600 MHz
    8GB DDR2 800MHz
    Dual Boot System: Windows Server 2008 x64 w/ Hyper-V, Ubuntu 9.10 x64

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Thanks,

    Appreciate the write up. It's very similar to the Beta manual install (course)... I can't find it anywhere now though since it was removed from the wiki page and the video on how to dual boot was put in place instead....

    It looks like I'll have to try this because I loaded up the Ubiquity and for some reason it gives me the options of manual or whole disk.... no options for a dual-boot partition unfortunately.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    37

    Default

    looks like you made a mistake (or me )

    :: Manually Install
    root@bt:~# mkdir /mnt/bt4
    root@bt:~# mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/bt4/
    root@bt:~# mkdir /mnt/bt4/boot
    root@bt:~# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/bt4/boot
    root@bt:~# cp --preserve -R /{bin,home,pentest,root,usr,boot,etc,lib,opt,sbin,v ar} /mnt/bt4/
    root@bt:~# mkdir /mnt/bt4/{mnt,tmp,proc,sys}
    root@bt:~# mount -t proc proc /mnt/bt/proc doesn't work, I had to use /mnt/bt4/proc

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nurek_bagieNNy View Post
    looks like you made a mistake (or me )

    :: Manually Install
    root@bt:~# mkdir /mnt/bt4
    root@bt:~# mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/bt4/
    root@bt:~# mkdir /mnt/bt4/boot
    root@bt:~# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/bt4/boot
    root@bt:~# cp --preserve -R /{bin,home,pentest,root,usr,boot,etc,lib,opt,sbin,v ar} /mnt/bt4/
    root@bt:~# mkdir /mnt/bt4/{mnt,tmp,proc,sys}
    root@bt:~# mount -t proc proc /mnt/bt/proc doesn't work, I had to use /mnt/bt4/proc
    Good catch, wrong folder name.
    QuadCore AMD Phenon X4 9950, 2600 MHz
    8GB DDR2 800MHz
    Dual Boot System: Windows Server 2008 x64 w/ Hyper-V, Ubuntu 9.10 x64

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    17

    Question

    bump.

    Does anyone know if this method would work, or would it ruin my bootloader?

    Code:
    Code:
    root@bt:~# grub
    grub> find /grub/stage1
    (hd0,0)
    grub> root (hd0,0)
    grub> setup (hd0)
    grub> quit
    Note: The "root" line must point to the location of your /boot/ partition if you have one. If you do not have one, point it at your / partition.
    no, i didn't perform that operation, i figured when i install ubuntu studio, it would create a grub file over the backtrack grub anyways.
    The only thing that concerns me about that code entry is the "grub> setup (hd0)" entry.. wouldnt that line replace my current bootloader menu.lst? maybe if i mount the stage1 grub entry to the /boot partition for backtrack which would be /dev/sda9, would i get the same results?

    As of right now (without attempting the above posted code), i am receiving "Error 17: unable to mount file system". Any advice appreciated!

    Thanks again!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killians31 View Post
    bump.

    Does anyone know if this method would work, or would it ruin my bootloader?
    It's not going to work because if you look at your partition table, (hd0,0) contains your Windows 7 OS. My advice is, copy all boot files to a single /boot partition (you have three) and update grub from it. Let's say you choose (hd0,2):

    Note: is really important that you copy whatever menu.lst you want to use to that partition. Also, as I mentioned before, you will have to place the compiled kernel (vmlinuz) and the initrd of each distro to that partition (/boot). Make sure in menu.lst you point to the right root partition! Good luck

    Code:
    :~# grub
    grub> find /grub/stage1
    (hd0,2)
    grub> root (hd0,2)
    grub> setup (hd0)
    grub> quit
    QuadCore AMD Phenon X4 9950, 2600 MHz
    8GB DDR2 800MHz
    Dual Boot System: Windows Server 2008 x64 w/ Hyper-V, Ubuntu 9.10 x64

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    37

    Default

    btw I also had a problem with:
    Code:
    root@bt:~# mount -o bind /dev /mnt/bt4/dev/
    once the output of this command was something like "Mount point doesn't exist" so I had to create it typing
    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/bt4/dev
    and then I could to continue installation... you probably forgot to place this word in
    Code:
    root@bt:~# mkdir /mnt/bt4/{mnt,tmp,proc,sys}
    check it out

    You should also explain this line
    Code:
    /dev/sda1	+64M	 	Partition Boot Sector
    it may be unclear for some people who are new to BT4

    anyway I'm very grateful for this tutorial, I succesfuly installed BT4 and configured GRUB. Thanks!!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Code:
    root@bt:~# mkdir /mnt/bt4/{dev,mnt,tmp,proc,sys}
    check it out

    You should also explain this line
    Code:
    /dev/sda1	+64M	 	Partition Boot Sector
    it may be unclear for some people who are new to BT4

    anyway I'm very grateful for this tutorial, I succesfuly installed BT4 and configured GRUB. Thanks!!
    Thanks for the heads up once again! I forgot to add dev to the list of new folders. I also included a detailed link on how to partition a HDD for those of you new to BT.

    P.S glad you got it to work!
    QuadCore AMD Phenon X4 9950, 2600 MHz
    8GB DDR2 800MHz
    Dual Boot System: Windows Server 2008 x64 w/ Hyper-V, Ubuntu 9.10 x64

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I got a problem with grub.

    First i had

    Error 19 : Linux kernel must be loaded before initrd

    after i put the
    Code:
    initrd /initrd.gz
    line under the kernel line.

    i got

    13 : Invalid or unsupported executable format

    Does anyone know how to fix this?

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    37

    Default

    please paste here your "kernel" line, or even whole /menu.lst

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •