Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problem With Macbook\Backtrack 4 Pre Release - Font size it huge

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Problem With Macbook\Backtrack 4 Pre Release - Font size it huge

    When I boot up to backtrack on a macbook and then run startx, the font size is so large that if you bring up the context menu on the desktop, you can't use anything. It covers the whole screen.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    did you try to configure x before you launched it? perhaps you need a different resolution.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    62

    Default

    same problem here. interestingly, if i run the bt4 pre final from within vmware, the font is fine. i cannot seem to find a way to specify the screen font size when starting x. also, the configurator for x allows so many particulars to be set but they are hardware related. the optional arguments for startx also do not allow to specify a font size.

  4. #4
    Senior Member orange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Try starting the XServer with
    Code:
    # startx -- -dpi 96

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I tried the

    Code:
    # startx -- -dpi 96
    No luck I'm afraid. If you are running in VMWare Fusion (with the installed tools I assume), I just reverted to the old xorg.conf file.

    Code:
    cd /etc/X11
    cp xorg.conf xorgbackup.conf
    cp xorg.conf.BeforeVMwareToolsInstall xorg.conf
    And then a reboot and start a new X session, all the display problems are fixed for 800 x 600, but anything higher and weird stuff starts happening

    I will carry on playing with the xorg.conf file until someone finds a better way.

    Oh, and Hi, just joined your forums.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    It's not perfect, but better...

    Make your xorg.conf look like this:
    Code:
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier	"Configured Monitor"
    	HorizSync	30.0 - 70.0
    	VertRefresh	50.0 - 75.0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	Monitor		"Configured Monitor"
    	Device		"Configured Video Device"
    	DefaultDepth	24
    	SubSection	"Display"
    		Depth	24
    		Modes	"1440x900"
    	EndSubSection

  7. #7
    Senior Member MikeCa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    129

    Default

    This xorg.conf fixed the issue for me. I am using a MacBook Pro with VMWare Fusion (same as others in this thread).

    It's nitpicky, but don't forget the final "EndSection" when using Method's xorg.conf.

  8. #8
    Jenkem Addict imported_wyze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    You guys using Fusion have installed VMWare tool, right? Fixes it for me.
    dd if=/dev/swc666 of=/dev/wyze

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •