Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Screen resolution problem, Intel integrated graphics

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Screen resolution problem, Intel integrated graphics

    Im running BT4 Final on a HDD install. It's a Sony Vaio laptop with Intel Core processor integrated graphics.
    My problem is that i cant get a resolution higher than 800x600 when i try to change the sceen size.

    Anyone encounterd this problem with this graphiccard before?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    all around you
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Screen resolution problem, Intel integrated graphics

    I have the same issue.
    I run a HDD install on Sony Vaio VPC EB12FX, and with same video chip as yours.
    Can't get the video to change more than 800x600...

    After a long search and much tries, I got the resolution to change but the video is clearly without the appropriate driver. while you drag a window for e.g it "frames out" or something like that.
    this is my xorg.conf atm, just replace yours with this one as we have the same specs.

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Configured Video Device"
    Option "RenderAccel" "true"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Configured Monitor"
    HorizSync 31.5 - 50.0
    VertRefresh 40-90
    Option "UseEdidFreqs" "1"
    Option "ReducedBlanking"
    EndSection
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Monitor "Configured Monitor"
    Device "Configured Video Device"
    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

    EndSection
    Last edited by xirmoni; 05-15-2010 at 02:07 AM. Reason: semi solution found

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Screen resolution problem, Intel integrated graphics

    Using Sony VIAO VPCEB15FX
    Here is part of my xorg - this gives me 2 1368x768s and one 1024x768
    I don't get it as I only put "1152x864" in the modes section. Its the only way I could get a high resolution without installing the drivers.

    # DefaultDepth 8
    # DefaultDepth 16
    DefaultDepth 24
    # DefaultDepth 32

    # "1024x768" is also a conservative usable default resolution. If you
    # have a better monitor, feel free to try resolutions such as
    # "1152x864", "1280x1024", "1600x1200", and "1800x1400" (or whatever your
    # card/monitor can produce)

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1024x768" "1152x864" "1280x1024"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768" "1152x864" "1280x1024"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1152x864"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 32
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

    Quote Originally Posted by xirmoni View Post
    I have the same issue.
    I run a HDD install on Sony Vaio VPC EB12FX, and with same video chip as yours.
    Can't get the video to change more than 800x600...

    After a long search and much tries, I got the resolution to change but the video is clearly without the appropriate driver. while you drag a window for e.g it "frames out" or something like that.
    this is my xorg.conf atm, just replace yours with this one as we have the same specs.

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Configured Video Device"
    Option "RenderAccel" "true"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Configured Monitor"
    HorizSync 31.5 - 50.0
    VertRefresh 40-90
    Option "UseEdidFreqs" "1"
    Option "ReducedBlanking"
    EndSection
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Monitor "Configured Monitor"
    Device "Configured Video Device"
    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

    EndSection
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO jkenj999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    somewhere in the cosmos
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Screen resolution problem, Intel integrated graphics

    I think that the procedure is the same, on ubuntu or BT since BT4 is ubuntu based. Here it is.
    Hope ll be helpful.
    Best regards.

Similar Threads

  1. intel 4500MHD resolution
    By lunar in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-30-2011, 10:42 AM
  2. Eee 1101HA graphics problem - Intel GMA500
    By Dishwasher in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2010, 12:50 AM
  3. How do I change the screen resolution in the GUI?
    By lupin in forum Frequently Asked Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 10:29 AM
  4. Can't set screen resolution
    By knight in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-20-2010, 12:36 AM
  5. Screen resolution problem.
    By keenanh in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 10:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •