Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Intel/Pro Wireless 2200BG - no WPA connection

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default Intel/Pro Wireless 2200BG - no WPA connection

    hi there,

    i use a dell inspiron 6000 with a Intel/Pro Wireless 2200BG card.

    when i start wicd, i see my network, but even after giving in the correct pwd, i cannot connect.

    is there any other pre-installed network manager i can use? is this a known problem or what do i do wrong?

    thx

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wizard_1 View Post
    hi there,
    i use a dell inspiron 6000 with a Intel/Pro Wireless 2200BG card.
    when i start wicd, i see my network, but even after giving in the correct pwd, i cannot connect.
    is there any other pre-installed network manager i can use? is this a known problem or what do i do wrong?
    thx
    Did you try to start wicd from the command line?
    Did you try to configure your card manually?
    Is it compatible?
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    hi archangel.amael,

    yes, i started it from the shell as root...

    no, i didn't try to configure it manually, just over the wicd gui...

    it should be, at least i can connect to networks which are unsecured...

    thx

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Crystal Wind
    Posts
    851

    Default

    What sort of WPA network is it. As I recall it the discontinued 2200BG only supports very basic WPA, so if you're trying WPA2 that probably won't work.

    Can you cut it back to WEP to be sure the card is doing encryption at the least (my atheros does WEP but not WPA, annoying because I have to carry another card whenever I'm hooking into the work network if I'm not wired).
    Still not underestimating the power...

    There is no such thing as bad information - There is truth in the data, so you sift it all, even the crap stuff.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Hi,

    Unfortunately i can not change it, if the info of my isp was correct... but i will try it anyway ;-)

    it's wpa1 ... so should it work anyway? or is there another driver i could use or another network-manager?

    thx!

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    hi guys,

    ok, i tried it with wpa, wep, and unsecured... it just works unsecured...

    the logs for the connection attempts look like that:

    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: Connecting to wireless network try
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: Putting interface down
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: ifconfig eth1 down
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: Releasing DHCP leases...
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: Setting false IP...
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: ifconfig eth1 0.0.0.0
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: ifconfig eth0 0.0.0.0
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: Stopping wpa_supplicant and any DHCP clients
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: killall wpa_supplicant
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: Flushing the routing table...
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: ip route flush dev eth1
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: ip route flush dev eth0
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: Generating psk...
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: ['/usr/bin/wpa_passphrase', 'try', 'abc2929abcabc2929abca
    bcabc']
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: Attempting to authenticate...
    2009/07/06 20:59:56 :: ['wpa_supplicant', '-B', '-i', 'eth1', '-c', '/var/lib/wi
    cd/configurations/0023a3851cb0', '-D', 'ipw']
    2009/07/06 20:59:57 :: Putting interface up...
    2009/07/06 20:59:57 :: ifconfig eth1 up
    2009/07/06 20:59:57 :: iwconfig eth1 mode managed
    2009/07/06 20:59:57 :: ['iwconfig', 'eth1', 'essid', 'try', 'channel', '1', 'ap'
    , '00:23:A3:85:1C:B0']
    2009/07/06 20:59:57 :: WPA_CLI RESULT IS None


    thx

  7. #7
    Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Crystal Wind
    Posts
    851

    Default

    If WEP connections are failing as well (did you do those via the CLI as well by the way) I'd guess there is something wrong with your driver or your hardware. Neither are fields I can willing provide information on, but I would check there - do you have another card you could test with?
    Still not underestimating the power...

    There is no such thing as bad information - There is truth in the data, so you sift it all, even the crap stuff.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    unfortunately i have no other card...

    but i have a dual boot and under win xp the card works without any problem...

    by the way: idon't know wether this is also a driver issue, but the injection test fails, too...

    how do i find a working driver for this card and how do i install it?

    thx a lot!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    According to the wiki your laptop is compatible with bt3
    HCL:Laptops - Offensive-security.com
    It says that the card also works ( whatever that may mean).

    Some links I found, states that ubuntu has drivers for this card already built in as of 2006 ( Edgy Ubuntu).
    Intel Pro/Wireless 2200BG + WPA in Ubuntu - LinuxQuestions.org

    This link by the same person with more responses, info.
    Intel Pro/Wireless 2200BG [Resolved] - Ubuntu Forums
    All seem to state the the driver is included and should work. The same should apply to BT4. Maybe give it a shot with ubuntu on a usb stick and see if it works that way.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    thx!

    i already saw that the notebook should work with bt4 just like that... that's why i was surprised, that it didn't work...

    i will take a look at the links @ home...

    greets

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •