Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: wireless question

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    8

    Default wireless question

    I'm new to Backtrack 4. I'm running BackTrack 4 Persistent on a 8GB USB with full disk encryption. It's really not that bad. I have been tinkering with it, I have been able to exploit my WEP connection in my house and was how shocked that took. But neither the less, I am using a Dell Inspirion 1501 using a Dell Wireless 1390 which is the BCM4311. It works perfectly for being able to inject and monitor. The only thing I am not able to do is get it to connect to the internet. Networks show up in Wicd Manager but I enter the key for the network and hit connect and it doesn't really do anything.

    My question is,
    Is there something I am doing wrong or something that I need to do to be able to surf the net? I appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Junior Member Valkyrie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: wireless question

    Quote Originally Posted by mbudden View Post
    I'm new to Backtrack 4. I'm running BackTrack 4 Persistent on a 8GB USB with full disk encryption. It's really not that bad. I have been tinkering with it, I have been able to exploit my WEP connection in my house and was how shocked that took. But neither the less, I am using a Dell Inspirion 1501 using a Dell Wireless 1390 which is the BCM4311. It works perfectly for being able to inject and monitor. The only thing I am not able to do is get it to connect to the internet. Networks show up in Wicd Manager but I enter the key for the network and hit connect and it doesn't really do anything.

    My question is,
    Is there something I am doing wrong or something that I need to do to be able to surf the net? I appreciate it.
    Did you follow the 'how to start networking thread in the 'how to section?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: wireless question

    Yes, I did. Nothing in there helped. I set it to ndiswrapper and entered my WPA code and it blinks the WLAN light and then nothing, still says not connected.

Similar Threads

  1. WPA Handshake Question
    By mannigill1 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2010, 09:03 AM
  2. Snort Question
    By hedgehog8711 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 09:49 AM
  3. A simple question
    By nevermore in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-07-2010, 12:05 AM
  4. Question about installing to HDD
    By excellion in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2010, 11:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •