Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: BackTrack 4 Network Manager

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default BackTrack 4 Network Manager

    Hello,

    I have Backtrack 4.0 Installed and have been able to successfully crack Wep. (Great Tool!!) I think I found a bug though.

    when I click knetworkmanager nothing happens. So I go down to the bottom right corner and right click the globe and select edit connections. I then fill in all the required information for my wap and yet It will not connect.

    The funny thing is I can capture packets using kismet and airodump-ng with NO problem at all. So i did an ifconfig and all I see is the l0 adapter and nothing else.

    I tried to modprobe iwl4965 becouse i have the Intel 4965 NIC but even after modprobing I do an Ifconfig and see only the l0 adapter.

    Kismet and Airodump work fine though!!! I actually cracked wep with this very same laptop no problem.

    When I do a dmesg I can see the NIC card get recognized and it is assigned IRQ 17

    I can now crack WEP but how can I get Backtrack to connect to a WAP?

    Note: I was able to successfully connect to the cracked WAP using windows.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    i believe you have to make sure that firstly the card isnt being used by any other application

    then type "networkmanager start" in console

  3. #3
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    356

    Default

    /etc/init.d/networking start
    /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start

    also, there are a lot of scripts for configuring wpa or wep on this forum...

  4. #4
    Member floyd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    231

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lcaseyva View Post
    Hello,
    I can now crack WEP but how can I get Backtrack to connect to a WAP?
    Did you mean my WPA?
    Auswaertsspiel

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    got the same problem.
    but starting the networkmanager solved it for me.
    thanks!

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    me2 thanks but how i can make NetworkManager to load automatic
    i hate to type every time

    /etc/init.d/networking start
    /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start


  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lcaseyva View Post
    Hello,

    I have Backtrack 4.0 Installed and have been able to successfully crack Wep. (Great Tool!!) I think I found a bug though.

    when I click knetworkmanager nothing happens. So I go down to the bottom right corner and right click the globe and select edit connections. I then fill in all the required information for my wap and yet It will not connect.

    The funny thing is I can capture packets using kismet and airodump-ng with NO problem at all. So i did an ifconfig and all I see is the l0 adapter and nothing else.

    I tried to modprobe iwl4965 becouse i have the Intel 4965 NIC but even after modprobing I do an Ifconfig and see only the l0 adapter.

    Kismet and Airodump work fine though!!! I actually cracked wep with this very same laptop no problem.

    When I do a dmesg I can see the NIC card get recognized and it is assigned IRQ 17

    I can now crack WEP but how can I get Backtrack to connect to a WAP?

    Note: I was able to successfully connect to the cracked WAP using windows.

    Thanks
    I had this problem as well with BT4. Too many errors, so I'm going back to 3 now. WEP's not hard to crack, but WPA is impossible if you don't have the right dictionary or the handshake. Are you trying to crack your neighbor's connection or what?

  8. #8
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eLiT3SnIpEz View Post
    I had this problem as well with BT4. Too many errors, so I'm going back to 3 now. WEP's not hard to crack, but WPA is impossible if you don't have the right dictionary or the handshake. Are you trying to crack your neighbor's connection or what?
    Maybe you should file a bugreport if it has so many of them. It won't improve by itself
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  9. #9
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkechBoy View Post
    me2 thanks but how i can make NetworkManager to load automatic
    i hate to type every time

    /etc/init.d/networking start
    /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start

    No. If you want networking to start at boot use Ubuntu. Backtrack is a pentesting distribution, if you don't know why we don't want networking loaded at boot, maybe this isn't the one you should use.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  10. #10
    Jenkem Addict imported_wyze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    No. If you want networking to start at boot use Ubuntu. Backtrack is a pentesting distribution, if you don't know why we don't want networking loaded at boot, maybe this isn't the one you should use.
    True indeed
    dd if=/dev/swc666 of=/dev/wyze

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •