Thread: Loading Kernel and other questions.

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Default Loading Kernel and other questions.

I am a newbie, and yes, I have browsed google for awhile. None of the tutorials are truly and extremely noob friendly. I burnt the Backtrack 4 pre-final iso to a bootable disk and booted it up. I was brought to grub and tried to boot, tried
    Code:
    kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hdal/
    but it was not found. In BT4, how do a load the kernel. A simple answer or a link to a noob-proof tutorial would be helpful.

Also, I would like to install Backtrack to a linux-based MID, how would I create a bootable SD card?

Thanks for any help in advance.

Just burned his ISO

Shamless self-bump.

Quote Originally Posted by Mortrin View Post
    Shamless self-bump.
    I'd call it shameless self-infraction.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

Are you getting some sort of error when you try and boot Backtrack 4 using the default boot option - Start BackTrack FrameBuffer (1024x768) ? Id suggest sticking with the already defined options before creating your own kernel load option.

If you're interested in Grub however, have a look at the Grub menu list in /boot/grub/menu.lst on the iso to get an idea of how the kernel line should look.

As for your mobile device question, did you search the forums? And see this post below? There's no answer to the first post, but if you read it, read between the lines and do a little research you might see the problem with running BackTrack on certain mobile devices.

http://forums.remote-exploit.org/bt4...ck-mobile.html
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

Just burned his ISO