Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Linksys WUSB54GC driver help??

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default Linksys WUSB54GC driver help??

    i bought a Linksys WUSB54GC from newegg.com.. i looked on the driver compatibility list and i found my usb dongle on their, it says that its supported but it also said the trick is the driver.. how do i install this driver so it will work in backtrack?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO sWiTcH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    THIS COMES STRAIGHT OUT OF THIS THREAD:

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sho...highlight=rt73)

    ORIGINALLY FROM SHAMANVIRTUEL


    First of all, you need to download this:

    http://homepages.tu-darmstadt.de/~p_larbig/wlan/rt73-k2wrlz-2.0.1.tar.bz2
    (just save to root)
    (this comes from shamanvirtuel's thread: http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sho...highlight=rt73 )
    Code:

    -Shutdown WUSB54GC:
    ifconfig rausb0 down

    -Uninstall drivers:
    rmmod rt73

    -Extract new drivers to root:
    tar -xvjf rt73-k2wrlz-2.0.1.tar.bz2

    -cd to driver dir + install it:
    cd rt73-k2wrlz-2.0.1
    cd Module
    make
    make install
    modprobe rt73


    -ready to go:
    ifconfig rausb0 up
    iwconfig rausb0 mode monitor channel xx rate 1M


    -now try to capture packets:
    airmon-ng stop rausb0
    macchanger -m xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
    airmon-ng start rausb0
    airodump-ng rausb0

    etc.....
    d0n't ev3r F1nd 0ut, Th@t Y0u D0n't Kn0w H0w T0 F1ght....

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default

    thanks for all that help.. but im stuck on now is for backtrack to read my usb adapter.. i am running VMware and when i load up the backtrack it reads my built in wifi card(uncompatible one) but not the usb.. i enabled usb in the settings but nothing happened.. i tryed to load backtrack from booting to the cd but the password prompt doesnt work.. i type in root and toor and it doesnt llog in,, it only does on vmware... wtf do i do this now

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO sWiTcH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NoCover View Post
    thanks for all that help.. but im stuck on now is for backtrack to read my usb adapter.. i am running VMware and when i load up the backtrack it reads my built in wifi card(uncompatible one) but not the usb.. i enabled usb in the settings but nothing happened.. i tryed to load backtrack from booting to the cd but the password prompt doesnt work.. i type in root and toor and it doesnt llog in,, it only does on vmware... wtf do i do this now
    Could you give me a little more info about how you set up vmware to run bt?
    d0n't ev3r F1nd 0ut, Th@t Y0u D0n't Kn0w H0w T0 F1ght....

  5. #5
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    While bt is running, insert the usb and then from the vmware menu there is an option to let the vm access to the usb device, select it.

    Your usb device should now be working

  6. #6
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    go on aircrack-ng vmware page

    download rt73 special dedicated vmware machine =)

    it's nice and run well

    ftp://vmware.aircrack-ng.org/TransRT73.zip
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default !!

    thank you all for the help.. i downloaded the rt73 vmware thing but its weird.. i boot it up and it asks for a usb so i stick one in and it reads it then stops.. wtf?
    im gona mess around with it for a while and try to get it,, my driver still wont install
    i got the usb to come up in Backtrack.. but it wont come up when i type in ifconfig the only one that does is my uncompatilbe intel wifi card..
    its marked as LO

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Hi SwItCh
    I'm trying to run the make command in the directory but I'm getting errors on BT3 -

    I'll need to write them down unless this is a common problem for BT3? any ideas

    I'm only trying to build these drivers because i'm not having much luck with the ones that come with the BT3 .iso

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    sorry i cant quote yet but i have troubles

    when i goto the step cd dir/Module
    then i type make (it says to me
    make: *** /lib/modules/2.6.21.5/build: no such file or directory. stop.
    rt73.ko failed to build!
    make: *** [module] error 1

    when i type iwconfig it reals the ESSID router
    mode: managed freq: 2.437 ghz access point 00.06.24.eb.fa.12 bit rate: 54 mbs
    rts thr off fragment thr: off
    link quality=100/100 signal level -36 dbm noice level -79 dbm
    rx invalid nwid 0 rx invalid crypt 0 rx invalid frag 0
    tx excessive retries 0 invalid misc 0 missed beacon 0

    If this helps?

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    ok good news, when i loaded my laptop and started backtrack KDE to ram (which i just wanted to try to see what it did) it loaded everything perfect didnt have to touch nothing, internet works perfect have not tried anything else yet because now i can get to the forums from my laptop instead of being on 2 different computers. so if anyone is having problems try booting BT3 KDE to RAM see if it works....thxs...next step is learning the basics

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •